We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laurelwood Inn
Nearby Hotels
$159
$111
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Inn(Highlands)(Great Value!)
$199
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 Main(Highlands)(Great Value!)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park On Main Hotel(Highlands)(Great Value!)
$234
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlands Inn Lodge(Highlands)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.(Highlands)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Franklin(Franklin)(Great Value!)
$94
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Franklin)(Great Value!)
$94
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
124
37
14
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
37
14
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomsfront porchplace to staynon chainpicnic areasmall kitchenthe crossroadscozy cabinwater featuresstaff ownerswithin walking distanceplace is cleanbig citywatching tvfamily weddingchain hotelsqueen bed
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 177 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It may not be the Ritz or the Old Edwards Inn (in Highlands) but the quaint room, the owners, managers & house keeping are so wonderful!!! The price is right too! The inn is basically in the center of town, near shopping & restaurants. Highlands is only a 10 mile drive. I will be coming back soon, hopefully!!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Visitor722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

this was the nicest experience and I will return soon. Eric and Doris, the staff I met personally, keep a nice place for families who seek to reunion and be together. they have a wonderful spread,Gazebos, landscaped grounds, water ponds, and play ground for younger kids. they are on the Walking Tour of Cashiers, and right there at the shops, and the city center. what a great place to just relax and renew. thanks for sharing!
Judy Odrezin, Savannah GA

Room Tip: my room near office, not too noisy, and around the wooded area, lots of birds etc...no negatives to my room...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodrezin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed at Laurelwood Mountain Inn this past weekend with friends for a girl's weekend. We booked several standard rooms. Each room had either a queen bed or a double and a twin. The room was fine with the queen, but a little awkward with the double and twin since each bed was pushed to the wall with a nightstand in between. Since we had only one person per bed this was okay, but I wouldn't have wanted to try and get out of the double bed if I were on the side against the wall! The decor was dark and rustic - fortunately with windows on both sides of the room and good lighting it wasn't as dark as I had anticipated.

Each room has a small fridge which is great, but if you are sensitive to noise, be sure and bring earplugs - several of my friends complained about being woken up when the refrigerator kicked on in the middle of the night. The room is also equipped with an A/C unit which was also noisy. I would have preferred to just open the windows, but with near 100% humidity because of some heavy rain it was just too sticky for me.

The grounds are what differentiate this inn from the standard chain motel. There are several streams running through the property and it is very shady with lots of mature trees. There is a picnic table and two gazebos with bench seating. We had a very relaxing happy hour after a busy day of touring the area! The playground for kids make this a great family-friendly retreat. There is also a common lobby area with group seating and a small front porch with rocking chairs.

I would definitely come back and stay here again but would book early enough to get a deluxe room or suite.

Room Tip: They offer one deluxe room at standard-room prices because it is above the lobby and faces the road and is therefore noisier than the rest. All the other rooms open into the central parking area but are surrounded by woods in the back. Except some boisterous fellow guests who arrived back late and talked in loud voices before retiring for the night, it was very quiet with respect to outside noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjohn416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This sweet renovated motel had great rooms, and the landscaping was amazing. The water feature outside our Huge screened in porch was just wonderful to listen to as we relaxed, and we were able to leave the double doors open to the screened in porch to let in the fresh mountain air while we slept. We had room 301, and for the price the room was spacious and comfy. Our little girl loved the play ground nearby our room. The Inn is conveniently located across the street from two great cafes for breakfast, and a few restaurants for lunch or dinner. We are already planning a future visit, and the looking forward to staying in room 303, which has a fireplace. Cashiers is a great walking town, very sweet and fun to visit.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank travelknowledgable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We loved our getaway to Cashiers and our cozy stay at Laurelwood Mountain Inn. It is a vintage motel that has been nicely redone. The rooms are very small but spotless with updated bathrooms with tile. We loved the woodwork throughout. I was concerned about the noise level with the smallness, but we never heard a soul. Walked to breakfast every morning at the cute local coffee shop right next door. Can walk to all the shops as it sits right in town but yet has a feeling of being out a bit. Lovely new common area with sink, microwave, table with lots of books/games. Fireplace with sitting areas makes this feel more like a bed and breakfast (but breakfast is on your own :). The owners were very friendly, as well as helpful when we asked for help for hiking trails. We loved our stay there and will plan on doing it again soon!!

Room Tip: They have cottages that we did not see but heard they were very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoClemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews