We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!!”
Review of Laurelwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laurelwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We loved our getaway to Cashiers and our cozy stay at Laurelwood Mountain Inn. It is a vintage motel that has been nicely redone. The rooms are very small but spotless with updated bathrooms with tile. We loved the woodwork throughout. I was concerned about the noise level with the smallness, but we never heard a soul. Walked to breakfast every morning at the cute local coffee shop right next door. Can walk to all the shops as it sits right in town but yet has a feeling of being out a bit. Lovely new common area with sink, microwave, table with lots of books/games. Fireplace with sitting areas makes this feel more like a bed and breakfast (but breakfast is on your own :). The owners were very friendly, as well as helpful when we asked for help for hiking trails. We loved our stay there and will plan on doing it again soon!!

Room Tip: They have cottages that we did not see but heard they were very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoClemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Laurelwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 170 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

I traveled from TN and have stayed at least 3 times here. The rooms are well appointed and much to our delight came with a kitchen that was perfect for our needs. I traveled once there to rendezvous with grandchildren. They loved the playground and waterfalls and ponds. It was peaceful yet located close enough to the hub of town that we had the best of both worlds! The nearby walking trails and farmer's market were a nice surprise. We will plan on returning in the future because besides wonderful hospitality from the owners, Bob and Lise Dews, the price is right!! Carolyn Lawson Johnson City, Tn

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cllpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our first visit hooked us. We love the quaint (non-chain) motel atmosphere, the service, and the lovely scenery.

We have been coming back regularly for a long time. The setting is truly “picture book” beautiful – a great representation of the North Carolina Mountains. Since the beginning, it has become our favorite haven for rest and relaxation. The location is great – within walking distance of most of Cashiers craft shops and unique restaurants. Not many things could come between us and our annual visit in the spring.

We always find the motel and grounds clean and well cared for. And there are always changes and improvements – like the cabins, and the upcoming pond.

The owners and staff are always friendly and helpful - going out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable.

It’s a bargain - stay there and get hooked like we did.

Janet and Harlan, Montgomery, AL

Room Tip: We like the corner room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandhrosin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Laurelwood Mountain Inn is meticulously maintained. The room was in perfect condition and had all the little touches I would only expect in someone's home. The gazebo's were a wonderful touch. I sat in two of them, in the woods, with the flowers all around, listening to the streams running right near by. And the trout in the pond were an extra too, with trout food right there for me to feed them. It is immaculate, sooo comfortable, friendly staff and just great! Great value. Great convenient locatio. I will definitely stay here again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George54171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Interesting old motel that has been updated very nicely. Offers cottages and motel rooms. Innkeeper very helpful and chatty about the area - he made a point of talking with me each day. I chose a motel room because I was travelling alone and found it to be a very good value. I would stay there again, wish I could've stayed longer, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The management really understands hospitality.

I will definitely seek this place out again the next time I hike to some of North Carolina's waterfalls.

Room Tip: Room 303 has a fireplace.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank advocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I hesitate to write this review because I don't want people to find this spot . yet the owners deserve to be successful, The Laurelwood Mountain Inn is quaint quiet and clean, it is within minutes of many waterfalls and other breath taking vistas in the Carolina and Georgia Mts. Done in natural wood decor and surrounded by woodlands and Quaint shops it is the perfect place for a weekend getaway. The price is very Fair. We have been here many times and will return as the owners know that upkeep and beauty go hand in hand as the years continue.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice it depends on how much you want they have simplistic motel style rooms to balco...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 40zees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashiers
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
6.9 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
175 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
7.3 mi away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
7.0 mi away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurelwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurelwood Inn

Address: 58 Highway 107 N, P.O. Box 196, Cashiers, NC 28717-5502 (Formerly Laurelwood Mountain Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range: $69 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurelwood Inn has been family owned and operated since 1995. We offer the appeal of a quiet stay at an affordable price. We are located on four privately owned wooded acres in the heart of Cashiers, NC. The Inn has twenty charming rooms, suites and cabins. This soothing retreat, just a short drive from Highlands, NC, captures the hearts of vacationers looking for a quiet spot to kick back and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laurelwood Mountain Hotel Cashiers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing