We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
127
21
7
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
21
7
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown cary boutique hotel library area osso bucco ground coffee soda fountain sound machine southern style free valet parking great boutique in easy walking distance brewed coffee wine selection sitting room next morning little touches king suite
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 162 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2016

One of the prettiest hotels I've been in with over the top attention to detail. While I just had lunch at the hotel, I was able to take a tour of the hotel and look forward to staying there in the future for a weekend getaway! Just a beautiful hotel!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016

Wanted to try The Verandah for Sunday Brunch after worship service @ First Baptist - Cary (The Mayton is right across Academy St from the church). Had a friend visiting church with us so invited him to join us in trying out the brunch. Good decision.

Interesting menu - good service - good food - reasonably priced

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank HPSHACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2016

My wife left Cary as a little girl 56 years ago, and wanted to stop and see her childhood home as we drove home to Arlington VA from Santee SC. We picked the Mayton Inn because it was within walking distance of the places she wanted to revisit (the old drugstore with the 1940s soda fountain; her elementary school; the old house, etc.) We could not have picked a better place to stay, and we've stayed in places all around the world. From the time we entered the front door, the reception staff were going well out of their way to be accomodating, helpful, and pleasant. The same was true of the bartender, the restaurant wait staff, the chefs, and even the owner/manager whom we encountered and had a delightful conversation with. The Mayton only opened in FEB 2016, but it retains a traditional southern charm that is well-appointed and radiates a thoroughly pleasant environment throughout the building. The cuisine was outstanding, the mixology superb, and there were many places to sit, rest, and relax--from the lounge to the library. We went to Cary to visit my wife's old home (which we actually got to enter) as a one-time event, but have decided that we will have to swing by more often on our North-South jaunts just to spend the night in such a pleasant surrounding. Be sure to say "hi" to Josef, the young Zulu-American waiter and Ryan, the barkeep-extraordinaire.

Room tip: Room 222 was great! Rooms to the rear of the hotel are away from some temporary road construction.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DrChipB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deannacrossman, Owner at The Mayton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2016

We are so happy to hear you had an exceptional time with us here at the Inn. We loved having you and your wife with us for a short stay during your travels and that she was able to travel back in time and reminisce her childhood a little.
I will be sure to pass along all the warm compliments to the entire staff, from the front desk, to the kitchen.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Cheers,
Deanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Everything about this inn is first class and I was truly surprised. It was recently built and there are great creative elements or style and convenience all over.

The owners are all over and the staff is super friendly.

It's the little touches like home made tonic, fresh ground coffee, great linens, and people that make the difference.

A definite recommendation.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank atlthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

This is a true boutique hotel: small, well- appointed, and extremely welcoming and comfortable. The staff here is personable, professional, and attentive. A new Inn, it is spotless, luxuriously appointed, with lovely common rooms. The library is timelessly beautiful and the entrance hall is modern and chic yet filled with classic elements. The guest rooms are spacious, luxurious, and nothing is overlooked. Sherry and chocolates at turndown was lovely. The breakfast included in the room charge was delicious and scrumptious. We also enjoyed a wonderful lunch and the bar mixes a great mimosa.
There is some road construction right out side of the Inn's entrance. Do not let that discourage you from staying because the building is completely soundproof.

Room tip: We were right across from the elevators and did not hear a thing. The rooms seemed soundproof!
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WVIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews