We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Bag”
Review of Ruby Tuesday

Ruby Tuesday
Ranked #206 of 463 Restaurants in Cary
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I dine out at casual dining spots once per week, trying to pick a different one each week. We chose Ruby Tuesday because of the good reviews but found our experience did not live up to the reviews on Trip Advisor. We ordered a chicken sandwich with sweet potato fries and a chicken dish with fries and a salad bar. Both of our chicken breasts were done perfectly and were of much better quality than we expected. The sweet potato fries were also very good. However, the regular fries and salad bar fell far short of expectations. The fries were barely warm and soggy like they had been sitting for some time. The iceberg lettuce from the salad bar looked OK but was limp and wilted when trying to eat it. The tomatoes had a thick skin and no taste. The balance of the salad bar selection was very good but lettuce and tomatoes are the basis of a salad and they were pretty disappointing. We probably won't return because there are so many other casual restaurants in the area with better quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeBoxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Another good Ruby Tuesday meal.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I visited this Ruby Tuesday while on business in the Raleigh area this past weekend. As with any R.T. that I have visited while traveling , the salad bar , friendly atmosphere, and good food always makes for an enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pparrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food, improved menu”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Its been a couple of years since we last at here. The menu has improved, there were decent wine selections for a chain restaurant, but there is still room for improvement. They were out of the first wine I ordered, service was very friendly, but also pretty slow.

I came for the pretzel burger, but ordered the regular by mistake pointing to the picture rather than being specific. The burger was super with the aged cheddar and applewood smoked bacon.

Friends had chicken pasta dishes of some sort and they liked it. We tried the beer batter fried green beans, which were delicious, but the portion was a bit small. For healthy eaters, they have a pretty good all you can eat salad bar.

We had a great table with a table cloth, if only they would turn down, change, or turn off the music which did not fit the atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good casual restaurant”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived between 5:30 and 6 pm and were seated immediately. Our waitress brought us biscuits to nibble while our meal was being prepared. She asked if we would like more biscuits and brought us more. The food arrived very hot and was cooked to perfection. Prices are reasonable. Look for coupons as they seem to have them periodically. Service is good. I have not had the salad bar although it looks tempting. I was disappointed that they discontinued the balsamic tomatoes side dish. They were very tasty. I have eaten here on several occasions and have been happy with the meal and the service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grannyjo204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooldadmark
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“One of the best Ruby Tuesday locations”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's a shame this Ruby Tuesday is hidden away in a back corner of the shopping center where it is located, surrounded by 60 foot trees, this location is truly hidden. It's surprising anyone can find them. They certainly can't get any business that just happens to drive by. CUT DOWN THOSE TREES so everyone can see your restaurant from the road!
That being said, this is the best location of Ruby Tuesday I have ever been to.
The staff seems happy to actually be working there. Every of them had a smile on their face, that was refreshing.
Salad bars are usually a gross and unappealing. This one was very clean, very neat, all of the food looked very fresh.
Everyone in our party ordered burgers, they were cooked as ordered and seemed fresh. Our food came very fast. Our waiter was very attentive with refills and had a pleasant personality.
Lastly, the prices were very reasonable.
Overall I would give this restaurant an A+.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cooldadmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Tuesday also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Tuesday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing