We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Root beer float”
Review of Ashworth Drugs

Ashworth Drugs
Ranked #8 of 21 Dessert in Cary
Restaurant details
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Root beer float”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My friend and I stopped in and had a root beer float here. It brought back old memories of the root beer floats my grandma used to make for me. There is a counter and several tables to sit at. It was my first time there and it felt like I went back in time to an old time soda fountain. The people are friendly and it was a nice experience. The soda fountain was fairly busy and we were there well after lunch. It is also a drug store but the soda fountain seemed to have had more customers. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grannyjo204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Is it the ambience or the red hot dogs 'n chili?”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Though my daughters are now grown, each was raised on special trips to Ashworth Drugstore. We still will grab an afternoon bite when running errands. Hot dogs, chicken or tuna salad sandwiches, vanilla or cherry Cokes: all are throwbacks to another time and place. The toys facing the counter will provide endless entertainment, too, for restless eaters. If you live in Cary, you must visit and enjoy this landmark!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lkfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint:)”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great sandwiches and always hopping at lunchtime:) The chicken salad plate is delicious and reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsquaredcary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
“best hot dogs ever!!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

delicious old time hot dogs and orange ads, hot fudge sundaes etc, hard to find back in time soda shops, just love going

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hot Dogs”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A step back in time for probably the best hot dogs in Cary. Sit at the counter or in a booth. Free refills on drinks. Tables outside if the weather is pleasant. You will meet many long time Cary residents as well as new comers here. Friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashworth Drugs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing