We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cary Inn - NC State
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2006

This hotel would have been fine if it hadn't been for the extremely strong scent of--I'm not sure what--deodorizer? cleaning supplies? It was horrible in the hallways and strong when we first went into the room. Luckily, the room also had a door opening to the interior courtyard, and after leaving it open for half an hour or so, the room was bearable. For one night, it was all right, but I don't think we would have stayed there for any longer than that.

Other than the scent, the hotel was clean inside and out, but not immaculate. The heating unit, for example, was very dusty. The wireless internet worked fine in our room in the main building. Our room did not have a refrigerator, which is always nice to have.

This area has grown tremendously in recent years and is very congested. Down Walnut Street to the east are several large shopping areas with lots of restaurants, both national chains and local.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NLW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Cary Inn - NC State
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 570 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2005

After staying at a Best Western in Charlotte we had high hopes which quickly turned to disapointment. The living area in our room was dingy as the rooms only have 1 window in the bedroom. however it was still easy to see the sofa was well worn. The kitchenette was well equiped. Beds were OK. Room was only serviced once in our 5 day stay-didn't much like having to make the beds.
Breakfast was just adequate but after 8.15am everything had run out and the staff were not at all happy about restocking bread, bagels etc. Also lots of workmen staying here. We had young people in the room next to us who were very noisy on one occasion in the evening.
The fitness area is a joke! Neither the exercise bike nor the treadmill worked and the spa has a half height wall with screen above it and is about 6 feet from the belt line! The worst thing was the fact that we didn't feel very safe as we were told equipment had been stolen from pick uops in the parking lot 4 times in the previous 3 weeks. As we returned to the hotel at around 7pm one evening we were approached by a woman in the parking lot who said she had run out of gas and was from 2 hours outside town. When I said we had no cash she asked if I (FEMALE) would go to the gas station with her. Needless to say I said no. We were surprised by this hotel as Cary is apparently a good area but I guess it is just off the belt line and easily accesible.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susananddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2005

Although I don't usually prefer staying at Best Western properties, I did have a good night's stay at this one. The staff at the front desk was very pleasant and friendly. The room was clean although there was a slight smell in it at first (cleaning fluid ??) which quickly went away after the room was aired out for a few minutes. There was enough to eat in the morning to get you started on the road.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Williamsburg, Virginia
15
Reviewed November 11, 2004

I was excited to discover an affordable hotel in Cary, in what seemed to be an ideal location right off of Walnut Street. What I found when I got there was much different than I had expected.

Best Western Cary Inn and Suites is located right off the interstate, but is difficult to find. It is tucked in the back and the sign is discreet. To my dismay, I arrived after 7 pm and there were NO parking spaces. Further, the parking lot was poorly lit, and the cleanliness of the room was sub-par. The sheets were torn, the sofa had a huge stain on it, and the remote did not work! The bathroom floor had hair on it, as if it had not been cleaned. Best Western Cary Inn and Suites did not fulfill my standards of what hotel cleanliness should be. You pay for what you get.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2003

We've stayed at the Best Western for the past 3 years of Cary Band Day weekend (usually in October). Our kids in marching band stay at another hotel. We chose Best Western because we did not want to be in the same hotel as our kids (too noisy),it is down the street from the Towne Center and where the marching bands congregate, close to the Golden Corral and a quick entrance to I-64. We like the free continental breakfast and reasonable rates. Room is always clean and it is quiet.
We're looking forward to Cary Band Day November 1, 2003!

Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frédéric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank carrob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPCGM, Manager at Best Western Plus Cary Inn - NC State, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cary hotels
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Raleigh Cary
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Regency Park
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cary Inn - NC State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cary Inn - NC State

Address: 1722 Walnut St, Cary, NC 27511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cary
Price Range: $79 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Cary Inn - NC State 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Cary Inn - NC State reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cary Inn And Extended Stay
Best Western Plus Cary Inn & Extended Stay Hotel Cary
Best Western Cary Hotel
Cary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing