We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“perfection”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Wow, this hotel is as good as any hotel I have stayed at anywhere in the world, made for the perfect getaway, from the staff to the setting to the amazing rooms..everything is world class--Even the Spa made for a perfect getaway

Room Tip: face south seems pretty lush
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled that you were able to enjoy your stay with us! We hope that we can provide another perfect getaway visit for you in the future.

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    90
    31
    22
    11
See reviews for
99
296
38
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

What a great hotel.. Lovely atmosphere, superb service, spacious room and Herons has amazing food. Pity I did not have a chance to really use the spa section. The attention to detail through the property was stunning with great artwork and everything incredibly well presented

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your recent review of The Umstead Hotel and Spa and Herons. We hope on your next visit you are able to enjoy all of the amenities of The Umstead Spa, especially the complimentary use of the sauna, steam and whirlpools! We take great pride in the care of our facilities and we appreciate your recognition.

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful treat from check in to check out. The attention to detail is remarkable. My husband treated me to a weekend for my birthday and it really was something I will remember for many years to come. Upon check in on Friday I was greeted with Birthday wishes by the staff. We enjoyed the restaurant and the spa and both were spectacular.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to learn of your recent stay for your special occasion. We take great pride in providing memorable experiences for our guests and I'm delighted we achieved that for you! We hope to welcome you back for future celebrations!

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I haven't been to that area in a long time and what a surprise and delight this hotel is. From the moment you enter the lobby you know this is special. It is unbelievably beautiful and fantastically appointed and how many hotels have a fine art gallery? Food and service in the restaurant and bar are beyond the pale. I'd go just to spend a weekend there with no other reason!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billanddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for making The Umstead Hotel and Spa your destination during your recent visit to our area. I appreciate your compliments of our dining, service and artwork. We aim to create memorable experiences for our guests and I'm glad to hear we achieved that with you. We look forward to welcoming you back for a weekend stay where you can explore more of our offerings.

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend the Umstead. The property is great, beautiful rooms, excellent service, and amazing food and bar service on site. As a host location for conferences, this is a great choice. One of the best I've experienced.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review of our property. We appreciate your business and look forward to earning it again on a return visit.

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I just love, love, love the Umstead. This hotel is so classy. From the moment you pull your vehicle into the valet, you know that you are in for a special experience. My husband and I stayed here for our wedding night. We come back every year to celebrate our anniversary and they always have a gift for us in the room Even though we live in town, we love coming to this fabulous hotel for an evening of pampering.
The staff is top notch. They have been trained impeccably. The décor is beautiful, everything looks so new and expensive. I think this is what heaven will smell like!
The spa is fabulous! They just renovated and added a coed pool which we enjoyed.
We have dinner in the bar (if it's warm, eat outside) which we enjoy for a more casual dinner. Brunch in their dining room is fabulous!
Treat yourself to a stay at the Umstead, everybody deserves to be treated like a million bucks. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make reservations for the afternoon tea! It is a wonderful time with amazing food and a live harpist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clintonfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with The Umstead Hotel and Spa with Tripadvisor. We appreciate your description of our property and most important the fond way you speak of our service and staff. We take great pride in delivering personalized service and making each guest feel like royalty and I'm delighted we have exceeded your expectations! Thank you for celebrating your special occasions with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Quite simply, The Umstead is one of the most luxurious, service-oriented hotels I've ever stayed in. No detail was overlooked in the lobby, on the grounds, in the spa, in our room or in the restaurant. Don't wait for a reason to visit the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area. The Umstead is reason enough.

Even ordering room service was a completely indulgent experience. We had a table on wheels with a warming drawer underneath to keep our entrees hot while we enjoyed our salads (local baby greens, pears, Brie and candied walnuts). The serene spa? Perfection.

As modern, gorgeous and tranquil as the place is, it's the staff -- from the valets to the waiters to the massage therapists -- who will make your stay memorable.

Yes, it's a bit pricey. And it's worth every penny.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra moolah to get a room with a view of the pool and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Have_fun_will_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your outstanding review of The Umstead Hotel and Spa. I particularly enjoyed seeing your lovely photographs taken during your stay. Your review will be shared with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay!

With best regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#6 of 22 in Cary
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
17.2 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,297 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Property: The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing