We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location in Cary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. The service was excellent. The room was spacious, comfortable and loved the technology in the room. They have a tablet on the nightstand that controls the lights, offers weather, time, news or music. The bed was very comfortable. The worst thing I can say about the room is it was tough to unwrap the soap :o)
The restaurant and lounge - good food but a litlle pricey. However, there are some great choices for restaurants very close to the hotel. Very convenient to business parks in the area and the airport. Would definitely recommend,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passline7741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 835 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

The wife, myself and my brother in law booked in Friday afternoon the 24th of Jan 2014. Two differenttypes/styles of rooms were booked, ours an Executive Lake View Balcony Suite with a lovely balcony and his a Premier room with King size bed.

Upon arrival the Valet and bell service could not have been nicer and more professional, quiet, assuring and informative. The vehicle was quickly unloaded and everthing placed on the luggage cart ready for moving to your room and the vehicle quickly whisked away.

The front desk personnel were smartly attired and were ready for our arrival. Room keys quickly issued and off we went to find our rooms on the sixth floor. The luggage was no more than 3 - 5 minutes behind us.

After our luggage was placed inside of the room the Bellman said he had also brought us a bucket of fresh ice (nice touch) the gentleman then explained the tablet beside the bed...

It controlled the lights, music and alarm clock, a second light and room status pad was fixed on the wall inside of the room entrance door. From this pad you can change the room status which will indicate the status on a light pad outside of the room door (more hotels should employ this idea). Privacy (no entry nor turn down service), service room and tray pickup being part of the options.

This suite has a full bath with walk in shower, tub and twin vanities and a half bath in the entrance hall.
A Keurig coffee maker and fresh bottled water was also provided in the walk through from bedroom to bathroom. A room safe is provided.

Two flat screen TV's, one in the bedroom and one in the sitting room. Both areas gave access to the balcony and overlooked the lake. The ice maker in the hall also provided crushed ice and ice cold water as well as a mixture of both.

In the evening, housekeeping turned the bed down, laying out the slippers (on a small White sheet next to the bed) and the bathrobes and yes they are nicely sized robes. Two chocolates and two fresh bottles of water also placed by the bed.

The rooms are very well insulated, quiet and very clean. Easy access to the internet (provided).

This is a first class hotel and Spa and if you want a quiet getaway and value for the price, this is it.. You will get what you pay for. ALL of the staff are eager to please and help in anyway they can.

We will return.

Room Tip: Lake view, 6th floor (618) for a quiet room and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Simply said, every aspect of my stay here was perfect. Whether for business or leisure, this is the place to stay while in the Raleigh Durham area. Rooms are spacious and clearly the staff's focus is to provide excellent customer service. There is no need to leave the Umsted to dine as the quality of the food is excellent in the restaurant, the bar as well as room service. Overall, there is an attention to detail and a serenity here that sets this hotel apart.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank cooldood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was worth every penny. The rooms are spacious and elegant yet cozy and romantic. The bathroom was enormous and inviting. Spacious private balcony. Complimentary evening turn down service. There was also complimentary champagne and gourmet chocolate dipped strawberries upon arrival to our room. The staff are attentive, informed and well trained. Well worth the expense for a peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Bares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great Hotel! Exceptional room. Wonderful finishes. We had an anniversary dinner at Herons and enjoyed a night at this Hotel. We had a full day of activities planned but never bothered to leave the room. We enjoyed the view and the calm relaxation that the room brought. Enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Happy Anniversary! I am delighted to know your experience was so restful and peaceful. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another experience in the future. Thank you for being our guest.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Well, we can say without a doubt that this experience was outstanding, the best we have had ever. Everything, and I mean everything, was high quality: the food, the service, the room, the spa. We completely enjoyed our Herron's dinner dining experience, partaking of the three course meal with a separate wine selection. Our server was gracious, hospitable and not at all snooty, making us feel quite comfortable in these upscale surroundings. The meal was as good as any we have had anywhere, and one not to be missed if you find yourself nearby. Breakfast was a similarly warm, delicious experience with great service that complimented the meal.

We stayed in a second floor balcony room overlooking the lake. Large by most standards, it was extremely comfortable and we sat outside a few times when the weather warmed up. Make sure to go down to the main level and sit outside by the fireplace; it was a treat for a brisk January evening.

Spa was spotless, relaxed and offered whirlpools, steam and sauna, as well as many spa treatments. Perfect relaxation venue.

Finally, everyone was welcoming and pleasant, making us feel like they were really happy to have us as guests. And that was in fact the overall feeling we had. Whether we asked for a bellman to assist or decided to carry our bags, that felt okay. If we had coffee in the bar area instead of Herrons, that was okay. If we self parked instead of valet service, that felt okay. Staff were uniformly outgoing and helpful, and that contributed to our extremely high level of satisfaction with our experience.

Room Tip: We love the balcony rooms overlooking the lake and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kielts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being a guest of The Umstead Hotel and Spa. Your recent review is a testament to our company vision and values. We aim to provide memorable guest experiences daily and I'm delighted we achieved that with your stay. If your travels bring you to North Carolina in the future we hope to welcome you back!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is absolutely stunning and there is beautiful artwork everywhere, but not pretentious. The staff is extremely professional and helpful and it is clear that the Umstead has thought about every possible detail. The grounds are impeccable and all of the food was delicious. My room was spacious and comfortable with convenient features such as one switch that turns on and off all of the lights. If you are eco-conscious - this is a place for you! Cannot wait to return to this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megsies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review of your stay at The Umstead Hotel and Spa. I am glad you found comfort and excellence throughout your stay. We certainly aim for excellence in all that we do! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cary, North Carolina.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#7 of 22 in Cary
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
6.8 mi away
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
7.1 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
Price Range: $338 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing