We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, if I come back will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic, if I come back will stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a lovely hotel. The rooms are quality and well maintained, and the care and thought that has gone into this design is obvious. The service is fantastic, the rooms are very comfortable and it is very very quiet, which means you get an uninterrupted sleep. It is set in lovely surrounds, at the SAS campus. There is a gym, 24 hours, and lovely gardens with a small lake you can walk around. Useful to have some form of transport, but it is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms facing the lake have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review of The Umstead Hotel and Spa. We know how important it is to feel rested whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, so it brings me great joy to know a good night sleep was had! I am also happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our natural surroundings as this surely adds to The Umstead experience!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    87
    29
    22
    11
See reviews for
98
286
37
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is an amazing hotel that even outperformed our high expectations. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful and the service at all levels is top-rate. We spent a night at the Umstead Hotel on our annual drive back to New York from our Florida house. My wife and I booked a suite (#107) and we were pleasantly surprised by a large living room and bedroom. In addition, we had a small patio that overlooked beautiful grounds. The room was immaculate and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was amazing with a wonderful shower. The linens, towels, soaps, etc. were first-rate. We usually stay at high-end hotels whenever we travel, and the Umstead clearly ranks with the best. This will now be a permanent stop on our trip to the north every spring. My only regret was that we would spend only one night in this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ase1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at The Umstead Hotel and Spa. We have many guests who make The Umstead their destination when travelling the East Coast and I am happy to hear of your positive experience. Our Patio Suites are some of the most requested rooms in the hotel due to their spacious size and their secluded garden views. We hope on your journey South you'll visit us again - we'd be delighted to welcome you back.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not to sound like a broken record, but WOW! I have now been at the Umstead 5 or 6 times. Sometimes to spend the night, others to have dinner or lunch. EACH TIME the service was excellent! If you want to feel special, experience being pampered, the Umstead is your place!

Room Tip: if you want a lake view room, try to stay in the center portion of the hotel. The outside sections...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your enthusiasm is greatly appreciated! I am so pleased that the service you have experienced with us has been memorable and excellent. We take great pride in providing exceptional guest experiences and your review validates what we do! Thank you for taking the time to review The Umstead Hotel and Spa and we look forward to delighting you in the future!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Settled a few miles outside of downtown Cary and across the street from tech-giant SAS, this upscale property is nothing short of perfect. It's just off the interstate adjacent to Umstead State Park. It's lavishly decorated and features pottery, installation, and sculpture from area artists.

I stayed on the 6th floor, in a king suite for 5 nights. Pretty much every detail is accounted for.
An extremely comfortable bed. Linens were clean and plentiful. Marbled bathroom, a fantastically deep tub. Free wifi. Great views in every room. Forest on one side, manicured gardens and fountain on the other. Plenty of parking, plenty of staff to answer any question.

The restaurant has thoughtfully prepared food. Room service is excellent and speedy. It's mildly pricy, but the food speaks for itself. Every detail is considered, every request accommodated.

I was told that the spa was closed when I was here. The gym is state of the art with new machines (treadmills are hooked up to the internet!) and plenty of them.

Less than 10 minutes walk (mind yourself as you cross the interstate off/on-ramps) is the Ulmstead State Park, with beautiful forested walks that go for miles. Take a map. They're provided by the hotel or at the entrances to the the hiking paths. There is also a mini mall 5-minutes walking distance with many more affordable (though less desirable) food selections. Fast-food, thai, mediterranean. Again, limited sidewalks/crosswalks, so mind yourself and the traffic especially at night.

The only thing I was missing was a car to be able to make day trips that weren't work related. However, the hotel was so comfortable I was never disappointed to remain in my room, go to the gym, restaurant, go for a walk. It's truly a great property and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu_W1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your recent review of our property is incredibly gracious and I look forward to sharing it with our team. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy so much of what The Umstead Hotel and Spa offers including our newly enhanced Fitness Center, our refreshed guest rooms including our new beds, our dining options and our natural environment which we feel adds to the calm of our property. We hope to welcome you back once The Umstead Spa reopens to gain the complete experience. Thank you for your business.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I spend over 50 nights/year in hotels, usually standard type business hotels (Marriott, Hilton, Westin, etc) so it is a real treat when I get to stay someplace special. I just returned from a one day meeting at the Umstead where I got to stay overnight. This is an exceptional property! The room was large, fresh, well appointed and tastefully decorated. As mentioned in some other reviews, the bed was amongst the most comfortable I have slept in. The public spaces are adorned with art work from local artists so there is something to look at between meeting sessions or while you are just walking the hallways. The grounds also look really nice but I didn't have a chance to explore them. I also can not comment on the food in the restaurant (Herons) but the food served at the seminar was a definite cut above most meeting catered food.

The only downside to this hotel is that I did not get to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
471 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

While I did not stay here, although I wish I had based on what I saw of the hotel, I did dine there with friends and it was fantastic. Very fresh and local ingredients, some of which are grown on the property I believe. A little expensive but honestly they give you a lot of food. Good service and a nice wine list. Eat outside if you can.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
404 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Whether its a trip to the spa, an overnight stay in the hotel, or a meal in Herons....this is a nice place. We enjoy the spa and have been there a number of times for just about every treatment on their menu....all fantastic. It does depend on the experience of the staff, but most are really good. The prices are on the upper end, but the spa offers a lot. The hotel itself is very nice, comfortable and located centrally to many restaurants. The restaurant, Herons is very phroo phroo and not exactly what we would repeat many times, but for a special occasion...very nice! Plan on spending some money - definitely on the higher end.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that your experience with us was memorable. We understand that the Herons experience may not have met your needs, but I am glad that you enjoyed the expanded offerings that our Bar and Lounge features. We take great care in maintaining the hotel and grounds and we appreciate that you were able to enjoy all of our amenities and features. We hope to welcome you back to the property for a future visit!

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#6 of 22 in Cary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Property: The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing