We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the nicest hotels in the country.... actually the world.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the nicest hotels in the country.... actually the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I travel a lot and have stayed in a lot of nice hotels all over the world. The Umstead is quite simply the best. The art work is amazing, the service is perfect, the rooms luxurious and the bar atmosphere and food terrific. Relax by the pool or take a short jog around the nature trail - everything is done right. It is a clear 5-star in my book even though the fitness center is small, the hotel location is nothing special and the restaurant is a bit over priced. So, eat at the bar, relax by the pool and enjoy your room and the top-notch service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and the pond are sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    87
    29
    22
    11
See reviews for
98
286
37
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

In short everything was great about this hotel. Rooms were lovely, hotel was well looked after and staff were exceptionally attentive. 10 out of 10. Best of all the creative oatmeal dish for breakfast! L

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is everything which you would expect for its AAA 5 star rating. The price of the package which my wife and I purchased, was "good value for money". There is high ratio of professionally trained employees to guests. You know that they are glad to serve you and that you have not come to the hotel to see them! No one in the restaurant will tell you " I like ......". The food is nouvelle cuisine at its finest and the spa is rightly considered the best spa within 100 miles of the triangle.
We did see some dust on the in-room furniture.

Room Tip: Stay in a king room overlooking the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just stayed at the Umstead and was completely blown away by the service of every person I encountered. All of the staff work to make you happy and seem to truly value satisfied customers. The rooms are of course beautiful and luxurious, but I think the staff here is the real reason to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I got married here in October and it was exactly what we wanted it to be and more. The customer service, attention to detail, execution, and overall ambiance made our day simply amazing. Thank you to the staff and everyone behind the scenes who truly made our wedding one to remember!

Room Tip: Bridal Suite was SUPERB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bub2674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tubbyl0ve
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Umstead does everything perfectly and you always feel like you are in some sort of euphoric state when you are there. Even though it is right down the road, my wife and I enjoy going there for weekend trips as it seems like you are worlds away. The grounds are gorgeous, the staff would let you walk on their backs if you asked them, and the food is incredible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tubbyl0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only live an hour away, but the Umstead is a great getaway for a mid week break or a weekend to relax. The spa and dining options are a big plus! Watch for packaged specials on the web site. I have gone for a girls night out, a couples weekend and by myself to just unwind. Weather permitting, the pool is great and there are area's to walk near by. If you are a shopper, South Point Mall is an easy drive as well.

Room Tip: In the summer go for the garden level for privacy and easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy9159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#6 of 22 in Cary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Property: The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing