We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is truly first class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just stayed at the Umstead and was completely blown away by the service of every person I encountered. All of the staff work to make you happy and seem to truly value satisfied customers. The rooms are of course beautiful and luxurious, but I think the staff here is the real reason to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 835 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I got married here in October and it was exactly what we wanted it to be and more. The customer service, attention to detail, execution, and overall ambiance made our day simply amazing. Thank you to the staff and everyone behind the scenes who truly made our wedding one to remember!

Room Tip: Bridal Suite was SUPERB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bub2674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Umstead does everything perfectly and you always feel like you are in some sort of euphoric state when you are there. Even though it is right down the road, my wife and I enjoy going there for weekend trips as it seems like you are worlds away. The grounds are gorgeous, the staff would let you walk on their backs if you asked them, and the food is incredible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tubbyl0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only live an hour away, but the Umstead is a great getaway for a mid week break or a weekend to relax. The spa and dining options are a big plus! Watch for packaged specials on the web site. I have gone for a girls night out, a couples weekend and by myself to just unwind. Weather permitting, the pool is great and there are area's to walk near by. If you are a shopper, South Point Mall is an easy drive as well.

Room Tip: In the summer go for the garden level for privacy and easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy9159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went on a get away with wife and stayed at Umstead and even had requested a special lake view room. Our room (#308) had a large (2+ feet x 1 foot) stain in the carpet which could have been dog urine, vomit, or who knows what. For a FOUR STAR hotel, this is unacceptable. Also the hotel ask you in aadvance about special considerations...I had requested foam pillows from THEIR form, but when we went to go to bed, all the pillows ar efeather which I am allergic to. Why bother asking and haveing special request forms if you are not going to bother fulfilling your customer request???

Again from a Days Inn or Holiday Inn I would have not expected much more...but from The Umstead, and any supposed four star hoterl I sure would have expected much more

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TTNIC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please accept my apologies for the condition in which you found your guest room. We are aware of discoloration or “watermarking” of the carpet in a few of our accommodations which has been caused by sun exposure. The hotel will be replacing areas affected which should eliminate this issue.

I am also sorry that we failed to accommodate your request for foam pillows during your visit. It was an unfortunate oversight that has been addressed with additional staff training. Our records have now also noted your feather allergy and we will ensure that upon your next visit to the Umstead, your service requests will be fully met.

With Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I just spent 3 days/2 nights in the Umstead's Executive suite (room 218) and was absolutely thrilled with every aspect of the facility, except for the food. It's not that it is bad: it's fresh, well prepared, thoughtful, but I think WAAYY too thoughtful. During our stay we tried:1) grilled pizza, 2) BBQ pork croquettes, 3) mac and cheese (entree), 4) club sandwich, 5) pork belly sandwich, 6) yogurt breakfast, 7) omelet breakfast, and others. These were the only things on the menu that had any appeal. Everything else was far to complex for us. The pumpkin crème brûlée sounded good until it said, "Maple Mousse, Curried Granola, Ginger Sorbet, Pepitas Fritas". How about just pumpkin crème brûlée? Really? Curry and ginger? Further examples: the grilled pizza: try to eat more than 1 slice- it's very rich. Club sandwich - try taking a bite. Mac and cheese - very good but not much mac. The BBQ croquettes - that mush in the middle ain't BBQ, take it off the menu. The mashed potatoes were the best thing I had all weekend. Sad, but true.

Me? Yes, I'm a simple man. I know you're catering to paletes much more sophisticated than mine, but remember the KISS principle (especially if you're trying to serve southern food!). I do enjoy exotic foods and have traveled the around globe, literally. But too much is too much. While sitting at the bar watching people eat I wondered if the chef ever looks at the plates as they return to the kitchen? I never saw anyone eat all of the BBQ croquettes.

I will be back. It's too fine of a facility to not visit. And Ruth's Chris is a block away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTWin80Days2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great hotel, lovely rooms and excellent service ( maids, doormen, concierge and reception). Use of spa ( whirlpool, steam and sauna) included with the room. Outdoor heated pool. Spa is divided by gender with a co-ed lounge. Spa staff very helpful and a delight. Excellent spa facilities, changing rooms, hairdryers, toiletries and towels. Great lake with walking/ jogging track around it.

A meal in the bar was very good ( fillet steak) but the service was nothing short of deplorable. Multiple staff serving the table and all intent on pouring wine but not providing either food or the bill. very disappointing and frustrating.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet as this is not near a road. Not that i tried any room other than my own !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cultureoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We appreciate your comments on the food served in The Bar and Lounge on your recent stay. We will certainly investigate each menu item to ensure the highest level of quality. We regret disappointing you with our menu offerings but I am pleased to know how satisfied you were with our surroundings and accommodations. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to ensure your next stay is exceptional!

Best Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#7 of 22 in Cary
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
6.8 mi away
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
7.1 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
Price Range: $338 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing