We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ouch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This hotel is every bit a match for a Four Seasons except in one respect: The mattress in my room was lumpy, uneven and in general much less good than you find these days in any standard chain hotel. Too bad. I'd love to rate it higher, but even amid amazing art, handsome design and swift and polished service, a bad mattress kinda trumps.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divisaderoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 847 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Umstead for the last 6 years during the holidays, Thanksgiving or Christmas. Each time we are not disappointed. The location is perfect...right off the freeway, close to the airport, the Umstead Recreation Area and a short drive to Raleigh. The staff is exceptional. The hotel is beautifully decorated with artistic, yet simple fresh flower arrangements throughout. The rooms are large and clean, with nice robes, slippers and huge bathrooms. We have stayed in the premier/lakeview rooms and the patio suites, and sometimes the showers in the premier rooms get the floor rather wet, but there are always plenty of towels! This doesn't seem to be a design problem in the suite-possibly the shower is larger? The beds are very comfortable with lots of pillows, and the grounds are basically a park, with the heated pool, small lake and trail, outdoor fireplace--all perfect for a relaxing stay. The hotel realy has an atmosphere that encourages relaxation and the spa treatments are nice as well. We have had facials and massages, both enjoyable. The food in the restaurant is excellent...although breakfast service during the holiday times we have stayed, can be a little slow. But, with the gorgeous surroundings and delicious food (try the chicken apple sausage), it is still a lovely experience. The bar is fun and I love the fireplace there. At times, there is a pianist or harpist, again, setting the relaxing tone of the Umstead.

I had my 12 and 14 year old nieces stayed one night with me this last stay. We ate in the bar and the waitress made sure they felt special by discussing their choices, asking them about what they wanted or needed, and giving them lots of attention. We had room service deliver our ice cream, and she could not have been more pleasant. The girls loved it. My husband and I got married near here, and the management of the Umstead allowed us to shoot a couple of photos at the hotel and helped us get a bouquet (my stressed husband forgot it) the morning of our ceremony.

We love this hotel and I can highly recommend it! If you can, upgrade to the patio suite. You have the gardens right outside your door and feel like you are alone. We will continue to stay there each time we visit Raleigh.

Room Tip: The patio suites are on the spa level with the gardens right outside your door. Feels like you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GatorKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We are honored to be your destination during your visits to the Raleigh area for the holiday season. We are delighted to know you enjoyed the amenities and services of the property and appreciate your glowing review.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Umstead in the near future.

With Best Regards,
Jim Beley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed at The Umstead for a staff retreat in early December. For some reason, I thought the resort would be out in the middle of nowhere, but it's right off the interstate and very close to the Raleigh airport. The hotel is lovely, both inside and out. Tastefully decorated and relaxing, the common areas were stunning. I liked that the elevators were secure, but I'll admit that it could be a pain at times to fish my room key out in order to press my room floor. The rooms are large, well appointed and full of those little extras that set a good hotel apart from a great one. I especially liked the turndown service, complete with slippers.
The meeting rooms were clean and very functional. The rock shaped chocolates are like crack, though. I probably ate my weight in those things.
Food was excellent. I've attended many meetings and often convention food is dicey. That was not the case here. Lots of variety and all of it was very good.
The best part of the hotel, though, was the staff. Without exception, the staff eagerly and efficiently responded to any request we had. Kudos to everyone who works there. Well done!
I didn't use the spa services, but I heard those were very nice.
Overall, I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an upscale, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJSCOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The Umstead is a retreat, tucked off an interstate near SAS in Cary. From the moment you enter the door, you know you're somewhere special. It is a beautiful facility. The rooms make you know that a lot of thought has gone into what a traveller cherishes most. The rooms are magnificent. It is quiet - never heard a sound outside my room during the two nights I was there. There is an art gallery for your perusal and a huge Chihully sculpture in the dining room. Room service 24-hours a day is available and quite tasty. Even the gift shop has beautiful things. Didn't use the spa but someone told me it was fantastic. Service is incredible.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer111477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The room was clean and spacious with fantastic shower / bath, etc. Slept really well in the comfortable bed. The pond and outside area with fire is lovely. This is a special place to visit and I would certainly recommend it for a couple as a break away treat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazrat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I've had the occasional massage here and there, but NOTHING compares to my experience at the Umstead Spa!
I booked a couples massage for myself and my boyfriend a week in advance and we arrived at the separate Spa entrance an hour and a half early for our appointment.
Because the men and women have separate changing rooms and facilities, we parted ways and I was escorted back by a female concierge. Talk about Royal Treatment! I was greeted with some hot tea and asked my foot size for flops while I was escorted to the changing area and given the instructions for my personal locker. After changing into the most comfortable robe I've ever worn, I was shown the showers, cold shower, steam room, sauna and whirlpool to use at my leisure, as well as the bathroom (with any product you could ever need to get ready). I also had the option to relax in the ladies lounge or upstairs in the co-ed lounge.
The massage itself was also GREAT! Such a comfortable room with light music playing.
We will definitely be back!
I recommend this spa for anyone who really wants the royal treatment! Arrive early to enjoy all the added bonuses and start relaxing now! It is definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VEE1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Umstead_Hotel, General Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your getaway at The Umstead Spa! Our talented staff works so hard to insure our guests comfort and happiness. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! In the meantime, thank you for such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Spent four days on business in a lakeview room with the largest balcony I've ever seen in a hotel room overlooking the beautiful grounds. The rooms are large and well appointed. The bathrooms are the best-- huge tub, separate shower area and water closet, and tons of storage space! Attentive, well trained staff were all great. Only problem in my opinion (and this is a pet peeve of mine) is they need to make the housekeeping staff more unobtrusive. On the day we were leaving, housekeeping rang our bell at 8:30 am. Housekeeping in a five star hotel should be aware of who is checking out that morning and not disturb the guests until after check out time. That said, the turndown service was flawless! When is the last time you were provided with ice and complimentary waters without having to call down for it? This was in addition to being provided with the usual slippers and chocolates, of course....

Room Tip: The lakeview rooms have huge balconiies where you can sit and drink some wine while enjoying the flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesBocaRaton_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cary hotels
3.2 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#7 of 23 in Cary
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
4.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh Cary
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Umstead Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Address: 100 Woodland Pond Dr, Cary, NC 27513-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#1 Family Hotel in Cary
#1 Business Hotel in Cary
Price Range: $348 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Umstead Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled lakeside on 12 acres of beautiful grounds in Cary, N.C., The Umstead Hotel and Spa is a calming retreat and luxury destination. The Umstead features 150 oversized guest rooms, elegant furnishings and signature amenities. The Umstead welcomes and inspires guests to find comfort, tranquility and indulgence in the meticulously landscaped property, as well as the plush Umstead Spa and contemporary American cuisine of Executive Chef Steven Greene at its signature Forbes Five Star restaurant, Herons. Independently owned and operated, The Umstead Hotel and Spa is North Carolina's first full-service hotel to receive the coveted AAA Five Diamond Award and is a Forbes Five Star rated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Umstead Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Umstead Hotel Cary
Umstead Hotel Cary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing