We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, overpriced unless you have coupon”
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
Ranked #51 of 462 Restaurants in Cary
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Description: Sweet Tomatoes features made-from-scratch soups and salads and handcrafted muffins, Focaccia, breads, and desserts. The menu is built around freshly made, great-tasting, wholesome recipes with a 55-foot salad bar full of fresh, seasonal vegetables and tossed salads prepared exhibition-style every 20 minutes. Sweet Tomatoes provides its guests with an excellent value by offering unlimited access to its entire menu of high quality fresh items at a fixed price.
Apex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good, overpriced unless you have coupon”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I mean, it's a large salad bar with soups, muffins, macaroni, fettucini, and dessert. With their regular coupon, a family of 4 can eat for $19.99 if kids are under 12 and under. Great ranch dressing and pizza pieces. At full price, you have many more choices at Golden Corral, maybe not quite the same quality though.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    48
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Salad yes, but other stuff, meh for vegetarians”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Well, unless you have a coupon I would pass. Yes, it's all you can eat salad and other things. Generally the choices for salad are good. However the other items that are vegetarian like pizza, macaroni and cheese, baked potatoe etc. palease. Generally the food is ok but cookie-cutter base-method American cooking and nothing to get excited about.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vegetarian222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“It Is The Best!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Whet I eat at Sweet Tomatoes, I always feel that I am doing my body some good. This Sweet Tomatoes is a good one and is everything you would expect at a great chain of restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scarletman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
196 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“My name for this place is BIG SALAD...”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

And my hubby knows just what I want when I say let's go to big salad. Place is always neat and clean with a great variety of option on the cold salad bar. The soups are always hot and fresh and you have other option like pastas and baked potatoes and the best blueberry muffins and chocolate chip cookies. Prices are great, wait time is minimal and the local paper always has coupons with great offers.

Helpful?
Thank Emjai1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Healthy, fresh & clean!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Best salad bar in town - w/lots to offer besides just the salad bar - they have 6 homemade soups to select from,2 or 3 freshly prepared pastas, muffins, breads, sweet and white baked potato bar, fresh fruits and frozen yogurt! Price is very reasonable also.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeachLover0697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing