We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food..”
Review of Udipi Cafe

Udipi Cafe
Ranked #157 of 466 Restaurants in Cary
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food..”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This had some of the best vegetarian food I have ever eaten. From rasam to payasam, everything was top notch. Friendly staff, despite the Jan 1st rush, added to the experience. Would recommend it any day; comparable, perhaps better food than what you would get at some of the better places in India.

Helpful?
Thank Abhi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good choice for Indian vegetarian food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Appetizers are really good and the doses are a use try here! Don't forget to try the mango lassi which is really good! And you can definitely get a good filter coffee! The buffet in the weekends are really wonderful with lot of choices of starters,main course and the desserts!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank premalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“veggie buffet”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a great place to go for a buffet Indian lunch if you live or work in Cary. The food is well prepared and tasty. The buffet is kept up nicely. However, especially in the summer, there's not enough air conditioning for me.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty good, used to be much better”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

When we first found Udupi in the mid-2000s it was the best overall Indian restaurant in the Triangle. The buffet was rocking and the dishes were oh so yummy. But something happened in the late-2000s and there were many changes in the tastes. So today you have pretty typical Indian food. It's not the best anymore. And they keep changing how the make things like Ravi Masala Dosa. It used to come with the potatoes inside the wrapping and last few times the potatoes were put outside. I'm not sure why they keep messing with their content but the changes mean we get take out from here only like once every few months instead of like once a week or two. Definitely worth a visit but not the best anymore.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vegetarian222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Food is So So. Service is very good!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very Standard south Indian restaurant. Used to go there every 15-20 days, lately i think Chef changed or something. Sambhar Taste is not good. ( I can give 3/10 ). Dosa, Idli are OK! Service is good ( esp water guy, he wont leave your glass empty at all .. 10/10 to that person for quick service ). Food is so so. Nothing special. Truth: This place is losing south Indian touch and authenticity. Need to work on it to bring that taste back.

I tried another restaurant which is not listen on Tripadvisor right now. Sai Krishna Bhavan on chapelhil road. http://www.saikrishnabhavan.com/ I found Sambhar real taste here. Rasam, Sambhar, Dosa , service excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akash_Talati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Udipi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing