We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night at the Max ”

Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 459 Restaurants in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in Cary since 1991, owners Margie & Will Hennessee decided to purchase the restaurant from their mentor, Chef Michael Schiffer upon his retirement. After 20 years of honing the flavor profile, unique to Schiffer, Margie has brought back some of Maximillians long time favorites, as well as incorporating her own unique approach to food. Using only the best local ingredients, a global inspired wine list and a hand crafted cocktails your visit to Maximillians is one not to be forgotten! If it is your first visit it won't be your last! Welcome to Maximillians!
Leesville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Night at the Max ”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I came here for a romantic evening. This was our second visit. Food and music were 5 stars. Interior of restaurant was a 3. We really enjoyed the food. Good selection of food was very hard to make decision. Enjoyed the wine list.

Helpful?
2 Thank kedkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    16
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love Max's every time!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been going to Maximillians off and on for 15 years and it never disappoints. For our anniversary, of all the restaurants in the area-my husband wanted to go to Max's and it was perfect. A Tuesday night, not too crowded with great atmosphere, friendly service and delicious food! We are so lucky to have this "hidden gem" --it should not be overlooked as one of the best restaurants in the area regardless of the fact that it's not in some hip area downtown and off the beaten path in a nondescript strip mall!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mz2nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We consider Maximillians one of our favorite restaurants in the RTP area. The food is always fantastic, the prices reasonable and the fact that it's a 5-minute drive certainly doesn't hurt. We've been eating here for 10 years since it moved to its current location after a fire.

Some things to keep in mind:
- Yes, the parking lot and mini-strip mall are uninviting.
- If it sounds spicy, it is. The "voodoo tuna with mahogany fire noodles" isn't kidding around. It's extremely good, but not for everyone.
- Be sure to wait to hear the nightly specials, even if it's very difficult to comprehend them. The serving staff does a good job detailing them, but by the time they get to the end of the recitation, we've forgotten the beginning. I'm sure the restaurant has a reason for not printing them -- even on a chalkboard -- but I'm not sure what it is.
- While Maximillian's isn't a "steak house", they do a really good steak.
- The regular menu items are fairly complex -- lots of ingredients that come together really well.
- Calamari starter is great.
- Coconut cake dessert is super.
- Several of the servers have been there forever. I think that speaks highly of the restaurant.

I think the only disappointing meal we've had was on Valentine's Day a few years back where the restaurant was overcrowded, and the menu was restricted to accommodate the crowds. We've been back repeatedly since then, and have always come way happy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NC_traveler1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
542 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This restaurant, located in a strip mall, could easily be overlooked but that would be a mistake. The menu was creative and interesting, while the food was delicious. Entrees were a little pricey but the quality of the food matched the cost. Service was very good. The restaurant is small and very popular, so I would make reservations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at Max's since it opened at the old original location. Tonight was a culinary delight. From the wonderful brothy lobster bisque, immensely flavorful without being heavy or starchy, to the oyster salad delightful with it's perfect balance of greens, fresh vinegrette, oysters vs bacon and subtle spicy ranch drizzle. And then the entrees: Grouper with curry and black beans with rice that was the extrovert dish, spicy with such aromatic herbs my palette was delighted with the last bite and then the veal chop with smoked mushroom ravioli, oh my!!!

Helpful?
Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing