We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Tempura!”

Kashin Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 466 Restaurants in Cary
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Cary, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT Tempura!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The tempura is sooooo good here! I haven't had the sushi yet, but it always looks great!! The miso soup is great too!
Staff is pleasant and service is quick!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A sushi place where everyone knows your name...”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ok, maybe since we've been regulars for years, they know our name and even our voice on the phone for takeout orders. But a restaurant has to be good consistently to earn repeat business and Kashin does it every time. Whether you dine in or carry out, this place definitely has the best sushi.

Paul sources the best fish so you do get what you pay for. He is also really great about customizing a roll as I always swap out avocado for cucumber. Be sure to have a salad and take home a bottle of their homemade ginger salad dressing.

It is located in a great area near a theater and shopping. So plan some errands or a fun evening and be sure to enjoy a meal at Kashin.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzmina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best sushi in the state so far”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

When I looked at this small restaurant from the parking lot, I was really close to not giving it a chance. But it's everything you could want! Great service, AMAZING FOOD and though they do offer the sushi staples of the area loaded with sauces, they also have a large quantity of sushi for those with a taste for the authentic. I didn't feel cheated by the prices because I wasn't cheated on amount of super fresh, good quality fish NOR service. I will definitely come here again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jujube1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Whomping awesome sushi”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Seriously sushi lovers, give this place a try. Do not let it's lower-level neighbors of Subway and China King make you think this place is of a lower caliber. It was some of the best sushi in the area. Never again will I hit the BOGO deal at Tasu for lunch. It is a little more expensive, but why just be satisfied when you can be delighted instead?!? This sushi is the REAL deal. Fresh, flavorful, and delicious. Plus, the sushi chef is a pleasure to talk to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Japanese food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Kashin is in the Crossroads Shopping Center. The owner, Paul, runs a friendly restaurant with very tasty food. My husband and I go there often. The sushi is excellent and for a great soup, try the Nagasaki Chanpon. I love this soup, full of noodles, veggies, seafood and a creamy, delicious broth. It is true comfort food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kashin Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kashin Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing