We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quick service tex mex” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taqueria del Sol - CLOSED

Taqueria del Sol
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great quick service tex mex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our first visit was a great one with a free sample of a soup/sauce I asked about. It was awesome by the way (the pork green chili sauce/soup tastes sooo good)! They do serve alcohol (beer, wine, mixed drinks), and that is very hard to find in a quick service restaurant as well, if you are in a drinking mood. The tacos, enchiladas, soups, and pretty much everything is ala carte, which is great to make a meal your own. The Memphis taco (BBQ with western sauce and coleslaw) was a little different but I would liken it to a BBQ sandwich in a soft tortilla- very good! The chicken enchilada with pork green chili sauce was the best thing I had- very tasty!!

The ONLY negative was the fish taco, which has fried fish but NO sauce at all- my wife had to add some of my pork green chili sauce but that made it very good.

The kids weren't with us, but they do have a kids menu that should work for most kids as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bcook350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Craving more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome! The food is so flavorful and fresh. The staff is top notch for a "fast casual" style restaurant. I love that I can grab a quick bite (that I know will be good) or I can sit down and enjoy an adult beverage with my meal. Great concept! So glad they are in Cary!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place for a Mexican meal with a Southern twist. Not the same old menu as you find at most every other Mexican place in Cary/Raleigh. A Philly steak taco as one of the weekly specials, for example. The Memphis taco, the fried chicken taco, the shrimp and corn chowder, the pork green chili - all are fantastic! Do yourself a favor and visit here, you will not be disappointed. Excellent service and prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best taco in the triangle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Best taco, cheese dip, guacamole, and margarita in the triangle. Love love this place! Used to eat at the ones in Atlanta all the time. This is not the same taco place that used to be at this location; the previous restaurant had a similar name but was terrible.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank margiek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
221 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The best ingredients make the best tacos.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Taqueria del Sol is our newest find. Bright and sunny. You walk in and order from an interesting menu with daily specials. If you order chips and salsa or chips and chunky quacomole, they're there as soon as you get to your table. Tacos are two bucks and change. Enchilladas are a little more. Two of us eat there, not including drinks for less than $12. Brisket tacos are filled with lots of shredded beef and topped with fresh pico de gallo. Special this week was what they called a cheesesteak taco with tender steak, sauteed onions, jalapenos and a cheese sauce with a little heat. Last week it was fried shrimp. Everything we've tasted has been exceptional with two exceptions - rice was a little overdone and gluey, not the way we like it. And the fish tacos had wonderful fresh fried fish but there wasn't much else, not much cabbage or tarter sauce or anything. Most taco fillings are also available as enchilladas and they serve beer and wine at reasonable prices. There's also outdoor seating in nice weather.

When we told them we wished they were closer to where we live in Chapel Hill, they said they are opening another Taqueria del Sol in Durham on 9th Street soon. We'll be at one or the other regularly. We love this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yahooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing