We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Stew”

Doherty's Irish Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 463 Restaurants in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: To Our Patrons,We created this relaxing and fun neighborhood Irish pub in Cary for you as a place to meet to bring your friends and family, meet new friends and get to know our family at Doherty's! Let us know if there is anything we can do to make your time with us more enjoyable! Enjoy your favorite pint from one of the ​19 draughts on tap and some Irish - American fare from our menu prepared daily using only fresh ingredients by Chef Irais and his team. We also have a kid's menu for the little ones!​We are open for lunch, dinner, late night and serve a Sunday brunch. Our pub has 7 HD TV's with multiple sports packages for you and your friends to enjoy your favorite team games! We also have live music 3 nights per week, patio dining, drink specials and free WiFi. The "Whiskey Room" is our private dining room that can be reserved Monday - Thursday by phone. We hope to see you soon!
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding Stew”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Located right around the corner from home - this was my first visit - but will not be the last. Outstanding Beef and Guinness stew. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Will be back to check out their fish and chips. I love Fish& Chips!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fields J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    107
    20
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just an Average Restaurant”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stopped by with two friends because we had read of the #1 rating. So we were very excited about the prospects of a good pub, but our anticipation soon led to disappointment. It was loud & clattery, service was slow, and the food was just average. I love good fish & chips, but theirs was heavy and greasy - I have had much better in the Cary & Morrisville area. Our waitress was very nice but not very responsive and forgot a few things we asked for (e.g., lemon for our water, etc.). I also thought it was a little overpriced. We will try this place again in the future, but for now it is nowhere near its Trip Advisor rating.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasantly suprised, eager to return”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We've eaten here twice and are excited to go back to try the other menu items. The food is absolutely delicious, the staff very friendly and the atmosphere is great. The restaurant section is separate from the pub and family friendly with a good children's menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TriangleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise to have quality food in a pub!?!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I went in for a regular lunch with my girl friends .. Gosh was the food delicious! everything is freshly prepared and tasted great! I was there with my hubby for brunch a couple of Saturday ago and it was a very nice surprise so I came back with co-workers this time. Same quality control on the freshness and tasted great. We ordered the scallop burger, corn beef and various different kinds of boxties, I had the Shepherd's pie. What a treat.. we ate off each other's plate to try all the different stuff. Honestly, all of them tasted awesome. Normally, I'd order a nice beer but couldn't because we had to go back to work :-(

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redcubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love their salmon salad”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been visiting Doherty's since they first opened and always had a good experience. The manager is constantly patrolling the floor, greeting customers and checking in with diners. The bar is a nice place to get a drink and relax with friends. The food has always been good, better than most pubs in this area. The menu items are interesting, and the ones I have tried have all been prepared fresh and met my "foodie" standards. I particularly enjoy the dill salmon salad and the fish fry which is probably the best I have had in the triangle area. Service is always impeccable and any issues have been dealt with in a timely manner to our satisfaction. I have not tried their mixed drinks. Their desserts have been very good. They throw awesome parties in the parking lot, especially on St. Pattys day! This is one of our standard restaurants we have on our list of known good places to eat. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tkcary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doherty's Irish Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Doherty's Irish Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing