We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange bed, disappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Strange bed, disappointing service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very modern and sleek. We arrived at 11 pm for check-in and could not find a luggage cart. We were told they were all being used by other guests. We carried our luggage and managed. The room seemed nice and spacious enough. Before bed, I decided to take a shower and almost slipped in the tub as there was no bath mat inside the tub/shower combo. Before getting into bed, we adjusted the mattress setting to soft (on both sides). In the middle of the night, we tossed and turned because the bed felt like it had a huge valley in the center of it. I had to put a pillow in the center of the mattress and lay on it to get comfortable because of the mattress sloping into the center. After a bad night of sleep, we came down for breakfast and got bad service. The kitchen area is tiny with one overworked chef trying to make pancakes, french toast, eggs and omelets for everybody. One cook !!! He was trying his best but it took a while since he was the only one cooking. It took about 25 minutes to get our food. When we got back to our table, the waitress took 10
minutes to get us a drink and flatware. She seemed overwhelmef as well and I saw no other waiters but her. For the size of the hotel, the kitchen is too small, unorganized and they need more staff!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank stlucia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    151
    43
    24
    8
See reviews for
196
125
26
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have been here now a number of times this year with work, I find this hotel one of the best you can stay and still a reasonable price.
Rooms are very clean, proper showers none of the over the bath type.
Front staff are very friendly and helpful.
Only had breakfast at hotel very good and again breakfast staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amulya S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear LeicestershireGreens,
Thank you very much for posting your review to TripAdvisor! We love to hear from our guests and we are very pleased that you enjoyed every stay so far. I do hope that you will return again, sooner than later, to take full advantage of the ultimate guest experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden in Cary, NC. The company I work for put me up here, so I didn't research it in advance and was pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff is very helpful and welcoming. The hotel in new and clean. I had a day off between meetings and the recommended places to go and see. There is a movie theater and mall directly across the street. The room is clean and comfortable. There is a nice workout room with treadmills and elipticals. The pool looked nice, but I did not get a chance to use it. I was down here for work and it was nice to have a desk in the room and free WiFi. I had a great stay and would definitely recommend if you are in the area.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 3rd floor. It was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
Green Features: standard for Hiltons -- they are a Green leader platinum level.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JW2Travel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amulya S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear JW2Travel2013,
Thank you for replying on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate your business and value your feedback. I was delighted to read your wonderful comments about our staff and property. It is always our goal to be your home away from home and we sure hope you stay with us during both business and leisure trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is new, clean, and great service. Also, do not miss the cookies at the desk, they are amazing. The location is good for business and I will definitely stay here again. Make sure to also enjoy the breakfast as it is worth the time and other restaurants are not as good a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amulya S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Glenn F,
I wanted to thank you for your recent TripAdvisor post! Your comments were awesome and we would love to see you again, sooner than later! I am so glad that you enjoyed the new welcome bars we are offering! Be sure to stop by and see us again as we continue to make amazing changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Thought the breakfast was quite expensive, very good but too expensive. I probably wouldn't have breakfast there again if I stayed. Other than that the hotel was very clean and nice. Hotel staff was more than accommodating and ready to answer any question about the hotel and the surrounding area. We had a great stay there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DES MOINES, IOWA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Cary, NC. The room was great, it was clean, smelled great. We also had a microwave, desk and chair, plus a nice flat panel TV. The king sized bed was terrible. It sunk in the middle and no matter how you adjusted the settings on the side of the bed, you felt like You were sleeping in a curved soap dish. My back hurt for days afterwards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was incredibly clean and beautiful. The girl at the front desk from Mississippi was adorable and very efficient and helpful. Lauren from the bar was also incredibly informative. I'm somebody picky when it comes to cleanliness, and I have absolutely no complaints. The hotel and room was immaculate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cary hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh Cary
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cary Inn - NC State
5.3 mi away
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
Address: 131 Columbus Ave, Cary, NC 27518-6990
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attending an NC State basketball game, concert or NHL hockey game at PNC Arena? Concert at Cary's Koka Booth Amphitheater? Uber fares from the hotel are very reasonable. The award-winning Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary hotel in Cary, North Carolina delivers hassle-free Cary lodging. Nestled in the heart of Crossroads Plaza Shopping Center, our hotel is situated midway between downtown Raleigh and the Research Triangle Park (RTP). Our hotel in Cary, NC is conveniently located near US-1, I-40, I-440 and the Raleigh-Durham Airport (RDU). Our location is ideal for anyone traveling to the Triangle area. Surrounded by over 70 shops and restaurants, plus an IMAX movie theater, Hilton Garden Inn a great choice in Cary, NC hotels. Guests at our hotel in Cary, NC enjoy a great array of on-site services, including a complimentary fitness center with the latest equipment and personal LCD TVs. Relax in the heated indoor saline pool and hot tub, or spend the evening on one of two outdoor patios with an open-air fire pit. Stay connected at our Cary hotel in the complimentary 24-hour business center. We provide multiple event space options to fit your needs, whether it is for a wedding or business meeting. Near North Carolina State University and located behind Cary Crossroads Plaza Shopping Center in the town of Cary, North Carolina, our hotel is just 11 miles from Raleigh Durham International Airport (RDU) and less than one mile from Regency Park. We're ideal for guests on business, as we're located only eight miles from the Raleigh Convention Center in Raleigh, North Carolina. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing