We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fallen on Hard times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fallen on Hard times”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

USED TO BE my motel of choice. Now: First room stale, had noisy heater that kept me awake, got a wake up call at wrong time & never got requested re-call, phone was sticky with a brown substance, maintenance supplies stacked in hall. 2nd nite's room: front desk failed to keep record of my move, a previous guest STOLE the clock, trash still in drawers, shower/drain not fully operable, outside hallway door freely opened without needing room key, lobby ran out of 'free' weak coffee by 7am. In general wrinkled, spotted, chipped, worn, cracked, paint-spattered, smelly conditions. Cancelled a future reservation to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0247, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I'm truly sorry for the issues you encountered during your recent stay. We had just started renovations during your stay and we are continuing these renovations, as we also take steps to correct the concerns you mentioned. Thank you for making us aware of your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    42
    28
    21
See reviews for
40
25
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. I have stayed in Red Roof's for years and this must have been the WORST. Things were clean, maybe, but the place is worn out inside. The staff are very polite and friendly but I have to ask where are the Red Roof Brand Police? It has not been upgraded to the new room furniture and fittings and is way worn out. If you can get the place really, really cheap you may justify your stay but I do not recommend this location.

Room Tip: Find another Red Roof around Raleigh. There are other choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6009interactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0247, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your response and I'm sorry that the rooms didn't meet your expectations. We just recently started renovations and now have 25% of our rooms completed. We will continue renovations and should have 100% completion by the end of January 2013. The new rooms are a major upgrade and are a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at Red Roof Inns many times over the years when travelling to Train Showsas a vendor. I am also a member of their Redi-Card program since 1991.
This location Did Not live up to the standards that I have become used to at Red Roof Inns for cleanliness and appearance. The room I was given had carpets that were stained and was barren with blank cement walls and a telephone that did not work.The new room that I was given after speaking to the desk clerk was clean but still lacked any amenities..

Room Tip: Do not get put in 2nd building. That was where the original room I was in located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pparrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0247, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I'm sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay. We are taking corrective action to resolve the issues you mentioned. We are currently undergoing renovations as we upgrade the property. Please consider us again for your future lodging needs and thank you for taking the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We found this place on expedia and it was a fair price so we decided to stay here. You honestly get what you pay for. Cheap towels, stiff beds small rooms and bad water pressure in the shower. On top of all of that there was a bug crawling across the tv! I would definately reccommend paying for a nicer hotel, needless to say i will not be coming back.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
1,003 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

In need of bright lights and a good spring cleaning, the foyer was old, tired and a bit dingy. Rooms were clean. AC was on HI and just barely cooled the room (needed serviced w/ freon)

OK stay for under $60, but would have payed $20 more for a better Room/Hotel.

Beds were old and tired... as was I when I woke up.

Room Tip: NO POOL, NO FREE Breakfast either... just hot Joe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

service was dodgy at best. I parked at the furthest building, away from Walnut Street. I did not see a pool-- but even if I did I would not recommend it.
Front desk person was disinterested when I arrived at 6pm

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tobes303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The man at the desk was extremely rude. There was what looked like urine on my sheets. Also, there were obvious blood streaks. There were three inch cock roaches in hallway and in the room itself. This place is absolutely disgusting an I would never recommend it to anyone, ever.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johng25521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0247, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
I apologize for the issues you encountered and assure you that his is not the norm for our hotel. We are taking immediate action to resolve and prevent any such issues in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cary hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cary Inn - NC State
3.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Raleigh - Cary - Regency Parkway North
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Raleigh - Cary
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary

Property: Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary
Address: 1800 Walnut St, Cary, NC 27518-9200
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Raleigh Southwest - Cary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Cary
Cary Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing