We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret”
Review of Tangerine Cafe

Tangerine Cafe
Ranked #88 of 461 Restaurants in Cary
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Restaurant details
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is the best Asian restaurant that we have found in the area. The only negative thing is it is small and it could have more atmosphere, but the food is awesome! We start off with the spring rolls, then have our our favorite dishes which are the Walnut Shrimp and the Korean Beef. If you go to their website and signup they will send you monthly coupons which is usually 10 or 15% off of your bill depending on how much you spend.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I read about Tangerine on another website listing the top rated eateries in Cary and have been wanting to give it a try for some time. We finally did this past weekend and I am so glad that we did. I will admit when we first arrived, I was a little surprised by the location and even more surprised by the lack of ambience inside; but I am so glad we decided to try. We were there for Sunday lunch; lunch is served with your choice of a house salad or three different ethnic soups (we got Dal- excellent choice!). The prices were just right for lunch ($5.95 for honey walnut chicken). When the food arrived it was hot and the spice level was what I wanted. We will go back and recomend to others!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SashaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little place, big on taste”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

. We always look for ethnic cuisine when we travel. Been her a couple of times. Small little place with great ethnic flavors. Owner does all the cooking. I'd recommend for lunch or take out as the ambience is minimal. If your in Cary, don't pass this little gem up.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notenuftime2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very good, homestyle Asian cuisine”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

If you’re effete, forget about this place. You won’t spend nearly enough, the ambience won’t meet you affectations, and you won’t have any name dropping for later occasions. The rest of you are likely to enjoy the well made and tasty food. Every entree comes with soup or salad. The coconut soup is well seasoned and has good “heat”. Don’t expect to have a little broth with your chicken; this is soup in the traditional sense (as all the dishes seem to be). The vegetarian version of the indian curry and the chicken with green chile also are good choices One thing we especially liked was that unlikely other Asian restaurants in Cary, the food is not excessively salty. We also appreciate that the owners try to give back by contributing some of the income to charity (check out their web site). We’ll definitely be back; I’m want to try the fish.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UglyBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangerine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tangerine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing