We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn by Marriott Raleigh Cary
Nearby Hotels
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$119
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Raleigh/Cary(Cary)(Great Value!)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Regency Park(Cary)(Great Value!)
$84
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites Raleigh Cary(Cary)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
55
36
9
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
36
9
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed heresymphony lakefull kitchenfront deskbedroom suitemarriott brandpet feenice suitenice hotelminute drivehousekeeping staffgreat customer servicecomfortable bedcomfortable staywould highly recommend this hotelwafflesconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 114 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is located in an idea spot for the Raleigh area. Minutes away from downtown Raleigh, Chapel Hill and Durham. In July, we stayed here after selling our home and relocating to the West Coast. Ironically we stayed at the same hotel five years prior when we relocated to Cary in 2004. The hotel needs updating, the furniture is worn and tired, carpets and bathroom need a complete overhaul. The food is what you would expect at a Residence Inn, no surprise here. The cleaning staff not very good and check in clerk not pleasant. For the price you pay and the Cary location it's not worth the price unless you are just passing through for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluJay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

The hotel is in a great location. You're 15 minutes (tops) from any place in Cary. The staff was very helpful. We found breakfast to be quite adequate. The only hot items are waffles, scarmbled eggs, and sausage. However, there were a number of fresh fruit, cereal, and yogurt options. If you're not carb conscious they have several varieties of bagels, bread, and oatmeal with toppings.

You might want to bring your own plastic cups if you want to take a drink down to the pool area. The kitchen is fully stocked but with real dishes and glasses.

The TVs are the "old fashioned" tube type, and we didn't have success with the internet access. We were there two days and it never worked properly. I have no other complaints about the suites themselves. It was clean, comfortable, and well stocked.

The pool area is small, but offers shaded options, and there is a jacuzzi. In the courtyard just outside the pool area are tables and grills. You can throw a party as long as you clean up after yourself.

They allow all kinds of pets. Even though ours were not on this trip, I like the idea that pets were allowed.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiddenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Visited NC to home-shop and wanted a good location. This was great - it's near everything. Right across from US-1 and 2 minute drive to Whole Foods, Starbucks, and dining. Definitely dine at Lucky 32 right up the road. Also, it's across from a huge fitness center too. It was clean, breakfast was great, the pool is just fine after a long day out and about. Parking is good too. No complaints here except that the garbage disposals are really loud, so when someone runs one and wonder what that sound is - that's what it is!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank LeslieInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Stayed here from 7-6-09 to 7-10-09 as 2 kids (ages 7 & 9) went to camp there.

Pros: Staff at the front desk was great. Location was great. Near NC State. Lots of places to eat nearby

Cons: Hotel is in desperate need of renovation. TV and furniture are old. Swimming pool is small and old but they do give you a pass to swim at a fitness club next door (which was very nice).

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotchaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I have stayed here four time for business this year. It is a typical Residence Inn. A bit dated. I think a sign in the lobby says it was built in the late 1990's but it feels a bit older. Furniture is original so the couches and chairs are beat. Not ripped, but definately worn down and not comfortable. Same thing for the desk chair. This is not a one off review. All four rooms on all of my trips have been consistently dated.

Kitchen cabinets are sturdy, glassware is good, and kitchen is clean. The refridgerators are ten years old and you know it. They cycle on and off a lot and you will definately hear them running louder than your refridgerator at home.

TV sets are 19" tube TVs with worn remote controls. No HDTV, no flatscreens, relatively limited selection of TV channels. Again, this is consistent for all the rooms I stayed in.

Internet connection is via ethernet (no wireless) but it works good, not great but definately good. No real complaints here.

I read some other reviews on this site about loud plumbing and thought people were being picky... Until I stayed in one of the rooms with loud plumbing. Big time watter hammer and running water when the room next door flushes their toilet or runs the water. If you live in a crappy college apartmet or perhaps have one of these lines in your house, you know the sound I mean.

Breakfast is free but it is a very limited buffet of scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and some toast. A step down from the buffet at the Marriott courtyard. But I suppose residence inn is not about breakfast so let's not complain too much here.

Staff is very nice. All have been polite. They run a lean staff so if you call down for shampoo, towells, etc., they will give them to you but you typically need to go to the front desk and pick them up yourself.

The health club next door is world class. Probably over 100 cardio machines, full court basketball, two or three swiming pools. If you stay at the Residence Inn, you get free use of the gym. This makes putting up with all of the little shortcomings of this hotel worthwhile.

Basically, this place is not all that bad but it is not all that nice. Unless you are a slave to Marriott points, try some of the other extended stay places in the area. The Marriott name on the door of this place is not a typical Marriott guarantee of a slighly nicer place.

I would stay here again on business and maybe with my family because the price is right. It gets the job done for relatively short money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews