We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place; not perfect.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Cary
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice place; not perfect.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I've stayed at this facility a handful of times over the past several years. It is true not much has been updated but the ammenities are nice: 2 large flat sceens, nice in-room bar sink area, spaceous rooms, great complimentary breakfast buffet, and relaxing lobby.

The staff were very respectful and the flower on the cook-to-order breakfast plate was a really nice touch.

Points of frustration: 1) the room was very humid and it was difficult to find a comfortable temp, the floor felt damp and the bed covering/comforter was too heavy; needed a light blanket. 2) the coffee/bread/danish area was congested and there was no room to manage your tray and prepare toast, etc.

All in all a really nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSG911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    234
    84
    52
    18
See reviews for
227
96
37
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

As with a few of the others posts re this hotel, some Embassy Suites are hit and miss...this is a miss. There is a much better one a few miles away and if available choose it. This one needs some updating. Although I requested a NS room, apparently the one I was assigned had indeed been smoked in before and had a bothersome stale smell to it. While they did move me to another room which was better, it had mold in the shower. Next time to RTP area I will choose elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLsoccerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I love this place in Cary, NC and always come back to it to stay here. This property has great ambience and fantatstic staff to make you feel at home.

The breakfast is awesome, the evening manager's reception is well stacked with quality wines and drinks.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeshuKanuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoBoVa.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed her three nights.Good location near resturants. Wonderful buffet breakfast and made to order omelets. It is dated and charges for wi-fi but worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
181 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our family (two parents, 3 kids ages 11, 14, 17) have stayed in this hotel a number of times, and we have always been pleased with the accommodations and the service. Our kids look forward to the pool, and the breakfast is a bit nicer than the (almost always good) breakfast served at other Embassy Suites properties. For example, they have a different "special" entree available each morning, so if you stay for several days, you will be able to enjoy some variety. A good sign is that some of the staff members in the breakfast area seem to have been working there for at least 5 years, as we recognize them during our frequent return visits.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have larger living areas
See more room tips
Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffsm5111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

I'm a Diamond with Hilton so you can trust this review.

As with many Embassy Suites you never know if your going to get one that's been updated or still is stuck in the 1980s. Well this one is still in the 1980s. Other than the flat screen TV and newer Treadmills everything else is pretty old. The front desk was nice and helpful, but the evening reception was not to good. They had Beer and Wine and chips but the overall vibe of the place was depressing. My room (832) could have been cleaner as there were two toy cars and a band aid next to the bed. Also there was hair still in the shower and the tub did not drain well.

Overall given the high price you should try another property as the value just isn't there on this one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRealBillBrasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night, as my husband had a work related meeting to attend.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. It's definitely not the "W" but very comfortable and excellent value. Here's a summary:

PROS
1. Rooms: HUGE, CLEAN, and COMFORTABLE. For under $100/night, we got a huge corner suite with a huge living room area, two 40 inch LCD TVs, fridge, microwave, and comfy beds.

2. Free Breakfast Buffet (and evening cocktail reception): This free breakfast is much better than several hotel buffets we've paid for in the past. There's an omlette bar, breakfast special, generous drink selection with decent coffee, and your usual breakfast items (fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, bacon, potatoes, etc etc).

3. Value: not sure if we got a conference rate, and although we are in the suburbs, I still can't believe this cost only $90/night.

4. Location: very convenient for us, as we were in the same hotel my hubby's business meeting was located in. there is a lot of restaurants and shopping just half a mile down the street. this neighborhood/city is clean and safe.

5. Looks like they have a nice pool. Wish I had brought my bathing suit!

CONS:

1. Wouldn't allow late checkout (I wouldn't have minded having the room for a couple extra hours, and wouldn't have minded paying extra for it), so had to pack the stuff in the car a little early. Would have preferred if they offered the option to pay extra for it.

2. Location may not be convenient for you if you don't need to be in Cary for any particular reason.

3. Slightly dated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likestotravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cary
0.5 mi away
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh - Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham Airport/Brier Creek
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
3.4 mi away
The Mayton Inn
The Mayton Inn
#6 of 22 in Cary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle
Address: 201 Harrison Oaks Boulevard, Cary, NC 27513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cary
#3 Family Hotel in Cary
#7 Business Hotel in Cary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham/Research Triangle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Cary
Cary Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing