We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok for a drink outside” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Rail

Southern Rail
Ranked #42 of 74 Restaurants in Carrboro
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“ok for a drink outside”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

It was a beautiful day so we sat outside for a drink. The restaurant was fairly empty so there shouldn't have been any reason that one, of the 3 employees that I asked, couldn't bring me a glass for my beer. I finally gave up and never did get the glass. We wanted to order a snack off the appetizer menu but we were having a hard time trying to decide since the menu was very boring and had nothing different. Before deciding I ran to the restroom to wash my hands and it was absolutely disgusting! It completly turned my stomache and it looked as if it had not been cleaned, or even checked, in a very long time. It was filthy. It seems that the owners/managers could have a goldmine with this location and setting if they just paid attention to details like the menu choices, hiring attentive servers and maintaining the cleanliness of the restaurant. I will never go back, even to sit outside. Big disappointment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    25
    14
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good for Brunch on Weekends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Delicious Sunday brunch. Good drinks all of the time and fun trivia on most Wednesdays. Plus, it is fun to eat/drink in an old train car. I've never had anything besides tater tots and brunch there, both of which I heartily recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UNCgrad08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here before a show at Cat's Cradle. He had the steak, which he described as divine. He also greatly enjoyed the mashed potatoes and vegetable medley that came with it. I had the chicken sandwich, fried with avocado added. It has to be one of the best chicken sandwiches I have ever eaten. We both agreed that we would eat here again in a heartbeat. We also agreed that we would bring my parents here when they come in to town. Not only for the great food, but the decor, since my dad is a train fanatic.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aqx99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Terrific and local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place is like a tourist attraction on its own. There was no real major passenger train station on site, as far as I know, but there was a significant railway in this area. They have taken that depot feeling and made an amazing site for a restaurant, especially in nice weather, but great year-round. Food is good, not great, but prices are totally fair. Overall, an excellent space in Carrboro.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jahausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere, not the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nine family members had early dinner reservations at 5pm and already several entrees
were not available so last minute switch to a hotdog, etc was less than what we expected from such a popular place. People line up outside to wait for a table just so they can eat in an old train car. Some of our food choices were very good, especially spicy mac & cheese and philly steak. Drinks and dessert will add considerably to your tab. Desserts are very small so do not expect to share your $8 piece of cake. Waffles & chicken is a mediocre dish with nothing else besides a few possibly previously frozen small waffles and a few fried chicken nuggets. Overall
a unique place to have an average meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Rail also viewed

 

Been to Southern Rail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing