We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Brunch Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venable Bistro

Venable Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Venable Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Carrboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Weaver Street
Transit: Venable is located on the CW, F and J bus lines. Convenient to all of Chapel Hill and Carrboro public transit.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Brunch Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I loved my meal at several brunches we have eaten at Venable Bistro in Carrboro. The atmosphere is very pleasant, service is good and food delicious. One of my new favorites in my hometown, Carrboro.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pegbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    57
    21
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
rougemont,n.c.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Basically, it did not live up to it's word defination. We had 6:30 reservations and did not leave until 8:45... People around us came and went and we sat waiting for our food. Half of us enjoyed or dinner, the rest, not... One meal, chicken, was sent back ... It was like a bathroom tile, hard and dry... My Udon noodles were very good, but at $15.00, a bit pricey... My wife enjoyed her Cobb salad... It was noisey, to say the least... As a group of 10-12 retirees, we eat out locally every friday evening... Venable will more than likely not reappear on our dinner list...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“English Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I spent many years traveling to/from the UK and while there I always loved a good English breakfast. My experience at Venable is the only time in the US that I have ever had a full English breakfast with eggs, baked beans, ham, banger, grilled tomato, potatoes, toast and coffee all in for a single reasonable price. My wife had a salmon eggs benedict that was equally delicious and prepared exactly the way she ordered it. I can't comment on other meals, but we will definitely return to Venable the next time I need an English "fix" for breakfast.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
276 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Large Portions of Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This seems to be a very popular place. There was a waiting list which would not have been a problem except the staff seemed to be in no hurry to clean tables when they became open. I had the fried chicken which was a breast butterflied with a bone in served with salad greens on top that were intended to be eaten at the same time as the chicken. The combination was very tasty although a bit on the heavy side. The specialties seem to be roasted items.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bxdiver65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Inviting environment; excellent fresh, local fare served in innovative, but accessible combinations; quality service; & fair prices. A favorite for dinner, but great for brunch as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venable Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Venable Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing