We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for a week and loved it the people was very nice the room was clean and the pools was very nice. I've stayed here ever year since I was little and it is the better then it has ever been.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james-sams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. Glad to read you have been a long time visitor. We look forward to your next visit. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    44
    27
    19
    51
See reviews for
99
55
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Four Oaks, North Carolina
Level Contributor
228 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The staff here is wonderful and helpful. The place is clean. By virtue of it's location and it's price - would definitely recommend staying here when visiting Carolina Beach. Has two swimming pools that are clean and well maintained. There are shops and other local things to do (The Boardwalk) very close by - easy and enjoyable walk. Enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I sometimes go through travel websites but decided to call the location directly and ask to if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Surfside is a good place to relax for a few days near the ocean. They keep the place reasonably clean considering everyone come in with feet dusted with beach sand. The room are comfortable and the furniture and bathroom appropriate for a beach hotel. They serve breakfast from 7:30 to 10. It's self- service similar to a Holiday Inn Express. They also have a free wine and snack time from 4-6 pm. The front desk people were more friendly than the norm. It's one block off Nags Head's main drag. Lots to do and see within a short drive. Not cheap but given its proximity to the ocean and location, a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. I believe you may have inadvertently reviewed the wrong property as we are in Carolina Beach and you mentioned Nags Head. Also, we don't serve breakfast at the property. Thank you. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Staying here was just like one of the best trips ever.....More than anything the front desk and other employees treated us just like their own family. They made our first trip their a fantastic one and you should really be proud of how they are managing your property.

Room Tip: The best room of all is room 20.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Betty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for the great review. Our entire team has been at the property for many years and truly care about the experience our guest will have. I appreciate you recognizing them and hope you will visit again in the near future. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We have been coming to Carolina Beach for 9 years now. There is no other place we would stay BUT Surfside. NO better location on the Island, 2 pools & the beach is just steps away, life is good! When we come there, which is about 7 to 8 times a year we just park the truck, & walk everywhere. Prices are reasonable, staff is always on hand for what ever we need. Either Brenda, Janet or Tim always answer the phone to set us up with the room we need, & Janice, Kay & Helen making sure the rooms are always clean and ready for when we arrive. Like I said before no better place to stay on the Island!!!!!!!1

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vonzipper34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. So glad to read that you are a loyal guest of the hotel. Also, thank you for recognizing the entire team. They all work so hard and it's nice to read when our guest recognize that. See you again soon. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm bay
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I have stayed at the Surfside lodge for numerous years and just when i think it couldn't get any better they always keep the heart of Carolina Beach beating. Very affordable and convenient location, beach access and extremely close to the boardwalk where my family spends most of the time while we are there. The pool is great for relaxing and the staff is always friendly and prompt, rooms are always clean, you guys are doing upgrades since we last stayed and we thoroughly enjoyed it. I will always frequent the Surfside Lodge it is definitely my families home away from home. See you guys next year thanks for all the memories!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashkap86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for the great review. So glad to read we have become your home away from home. Thank you for all the great comments. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great location, right near the boardwalk. Room was $175 after tax, and the price is just too much for this property. Room was very clean! Unfortunately, there was a severe cigarette smell in the room to the point I woke up in the middle of the night trying to breath (and I don't have asthma). Paper thin walls. The couple next to us had a cell phone alarm that went off on vibrate at 5:04 am and continually buzzed for the next two hours. So much for sleeping in! The pool is clean and the staff is very friendly, but my wife and I will not be staying there again when Carolina/Kure beach have much nicer properties for the same or cheaper price than this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
So sorry to hear about the noise and the smoke smell. I know that our cleaning staffs work extremely hard to eliminate the odor so we will work with our management team to see if there is a different solution. I do appreciate your comments on our staff and we will review our rates to determine if we are in line with the market. We are in the final phases of completing an upgrade to the majority of our rooms and we expect our new furniture package to arrive in a couple of weeks. We hope you will come back and give us another chance. Feel free to call me with any questions you may have at 910-509-1707. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Property: Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Address: 234 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6111 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Surfside Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Motor Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Motel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing