We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great views from the room from both sides”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Lawsonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great views from the room from both sides”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

older but very comfortable loved the room on the end with views from the side and the front will definitly will stay there again walking distance of good restaurants baclony view of the ocean employees very helpful beach wide and nice for fishing

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. So glad you enjoyed the property and the great views. Also, thank you for the nice comments on the staff. We hope you will get a chance to visit again real soon. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    44
    27
    19
    49
See reviews for
95
54
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent an awesome New Year's Eve and New Years Day at The Surfside Motor Lodge in Carolina Beach NC. It is a great place to stay. Its right on the main strip in Carolina Beach, ocean front. The rooms are very nice sized so your never too cramped up and they are very neat and clean. I am very picky about hotels and where I stay and I always love to go there over and over again. I have been visiting the Surfside for about five years now and I always am very comfortable when making my reservations because The Manager Brenda and her staff always make sure that I get just the room that I am looking for and they go out of their way to make my stay great. Any concerns or needs that I have they are quick to respond to. They are all also very good to give information about the area and tourist attractions etc. I just can't say enough good things about The Surfside. I guess the fact that I have been doing there for five years and plan to continue to go there year after years says it all for me!!! Will be making my spring and summer travel plans with them very soon!!! Don't take my word, go check them out for yourself and I bet you, you will feel the same way!

Room Tip: I personally love room 36. It has two queen beds with a full kitchen and private ocean front balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Michelle, Thank you for the great review. So glad to read that you are a loyal customer of ours. Brenda and her team do an outstanding job. We look forward to your next visit. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend of fishing. The rooms were nice and clean. The rate was really good also. The hotel is oceanfront but you can't see the ocean. You do have to walk to over the dunes to see the ocean. But that is understandable. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. Hope you enjoyed your fishing. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next visit. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed @ Surfside Motor Lodge for 2 nights in July... it was a last minute spontaneous beach trip (we didn't expect it to be of reputable hotel quality). The woman that I spoke with when we booked was more than friendly and the front desk gentleman was very kind as well.

We booked 2 rooms (one for another couple)... we paid each $150/night. I suppose given that it was in season AND weekend, and the place had beach access it was a typical/average MO-tel. When we walked into our room, it was definitely cool (air conditioning was good), but I immediately stripped the bed of its comforter. We went to our cars to get our own blankets to use. The bed only had sheets and their comforter.

There was a chair right inside the door that looked as if there was every last type of bodily fluid or colonies of bacteria growing on it... we automatically kept that off limits. The bathroom was kind of clean, but I noticed some hair behind the toilet and pubic-looking hair on the TP holder. Due to the fact of our first impression, we made SURE to keep flip-flops next to our bed to wear in case we had to use the restroom in the middle of the night...

Plusses: full sized refrigerator, access to beach, pool was clean and refreshing, close for walking distance to boardwalk and restaurants and friendly staff.

I do feel that for the quality of our rooms, the price was WAY too high, but we do understand that its the going rate for any motel on the oceanfront. Given that everything is outdated, there are some definite upgrades needed. However, I understand that some of their clientele may prevent them from spending more money on new things just to have them get trashed again. From what we saw (maybe it was just that weekend) it was the redneck riviera (Carolina Beach in its entirety). We definitely discovered that nightlife consists of a LOT of young lower 20-s girls and boys that set out to get wasted every night.

One may ask, "well did you go complain?" Honestly, no. What were they going to do about it? I knew that they wouldn't budge on the price. Even if they offered to have their housekeeper come clean some things in the bathroom, I had my own Clorox wipes and took care of it. I didn't want to come across as a witchy guest that appeared stuck up and crazy. Like I said, we kind of expected less than pretty and understood that we were just paying for a place to sleep that was on the ocean.. we of course didn't spend much time in our rooms. But, the whole point of this review is to be honest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sullivan92112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for the review. I will speak to our management to determine why your room wasn't cleaned according to our standards. Our rooms do need updating. We are in the process of updating all furniture, entry doors, sliding glass doors and window treatments. The hotel is an older mom and pop hotel and we have been doing our best to upgrade the property due to the poor condition it was in when we took over. I appreciate your feedback. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carolina Beach hotels

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
342 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here off-season ($60.00) for one night. Just needed a crash pad while on a fishing trip. Could have had about the same environment in my tent, but wife was with me & she don't do tents. Poor bed, sliding glass door to seaside balcony broken, a/c was so loud, you could not hear the waves breaking, safety latch on door was broken....the only positive was the price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grady A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will begin updating all the sliding glass doors, front doors and furniture in mid January and should have the updates completed by mid-March. We appreciate your business and hope that you will get a chance to stay with us next year. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

From the pictures online, this looked like a nice place to stay. So I booked a 2-night stay online. Our son lives in Wilmington close to the Carolina Beach area, and we were visiting him. When we arrived, my husband was told that we had received an UPGRADE! If this room was an upgrade, I would hate to see the other rooms! One window had a crack all the way down it. Some of the blinds were all bent up. The carpet was stained. The room smelled like cigarette smoke. The refigerator door was dirty where we had to place our hands to open it, and there were no ice trays. Parking was difficult as well. The only good things about our stay: close to the ocean, nice pool with chairs close to our room, the beds
were clean and slept ok, and that we didn't stay in our room very much while there! We will not stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
I apologize that our room did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of upgrading all the doors, furniture and window treatments. We took over this hotel a year ago and it was in pretty bad shape. We have trying our best to improve the property and hope that you will give us another try later this year. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Property: Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Address: 234 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6111 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Surfside Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Motor Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Motel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing