We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surfside Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drydock Motel(Carolina Beach)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceaneer Motel(Carolina Beach)(Great Value!)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drifters Reef Hotel(Carolina Beach)
$137
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sands(Carolina Beach)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
105
49
29
20
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
49
29
20
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontwithin walking distancesecond hometreated like familybeach hotelfull sizevisiting carolina beachclean roomslocation is greatamusement parkfamily vacationlove this placebrendaboardwalkstovemaintenancerates
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 257 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My girlfriends and I have been going to surfside for the past 9 years, and we love it, Brenda and the staff always makes us feel welcome, we have meet some wonderful people and made some new friends , we will keep going every year that we are able and our place to stay away from home will be our second home surfside and to be with our family away from home/

Room Tip: either room 15 or 20 aree very good rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank friends03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for the great review. Love to hear that Brenda and the staff always make you feel welcome. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again next year. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just stayed one night this week. We came at the last minute to join my brother and his family during their week vacation. Fortunately for us they had one room available and it was right under my brother's room. When I went to open my room door I immediately noticed that it looked like at one point the door had been kicked in. The door had not been replaced but everything that was broke was just screwed back together. When I opened the door and looked around I noticed the dark stains on the comforters and when I pulled back the sheets I noticed stains on the sheets and hairs were embedded in the bedding. There were stains all over the carpets. The TV sat on top of the refrigerator. That did not seem safe to me. There was a large hole in the kitchen cabinet and a large hole in the shower wall. The bathroom walls had dirty streaks that ran all down the walls as if someone had peed on it and it was never cleaned. When it was time for bed I became aware that the doors in the hallway that led to outside were left open all night long. So people randomly walking down the street could stroll into the place and could try and break into your room. Not very comforting. I am female with 3 little girls. I stayed by myself with a chair jacked up against my door terrified. I also had a hard time going to sleep because I would not get under the covers (they were covered in stains). I finally dosed off at some point only to be awakened at 5:45 when the trash truck came and I couldn't go back to sleep. I think if you rate this place as a best place to stay then where you stay must be nastier than this one. I smelled cigarettes all night long. Between the odor of the hotel and the smoke smell I had to wash and scrub down everything I took. We paid $200 for one horrible night. The only reason I stayed was for my brother and his family. Will never happen again. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND EVER!

Room Tip: There was no good oceanview.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

So sorry that our hotel didn't meet your expectations. We just took over the property last year and used all of the capital we could to do the upgrades we could afford at the time. We have allotted more money to do additional upgrades in the off season. Thank you for your review, even the tough ones will help us to determine what our greatest needs are. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The room had an awful odor. I think it is mildew and they try to mask it with some sort of air freshener that is sickeningly sweet. I noticed my hair smelled like mildew when we were on our way home and so did our canvas suitcases. If you like to see yourself in the mirror while blowdrying or flat ironing your hair, good luck with that. There are NO electric outlets in the bathroom. The outlet I had to use to try to be close to the mirror on the dresser required having to move the mattress back, still I couldn't even stand in front of the mirror on the dresser, so I ended up doing my hair without the use of a mirror. Couldn't get hot water in the mornings when most people are showering...in the late afternoon, hot water was available. The beds were so hard, like sleeping on the ground and our hips were sore in the mornings. The room had a stove, fridge, and kitchen sink (which we didn't request or need) and the stove was rusty and the whole room had a dirty feel to it. The TV is a 19" old fashioned TV and sits on top of the fridge so you have to crane your neck to see it, unless you are laying down in bed. With tax, it was just shy of $300.00 for 3 nights in pre-season...way too much for this hotel. The hotel is very old, which would not be a problem if some updating and ozoning were done. Honestly, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

So sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do plan upgrades in the off season. We took over the hotel last year and have made upgrades and plan to do more this upcoming off season. We appreciate you comments and review as we will do our best to find ways to improve the hotel. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I always stay at Surfside when we visit Carolina beach. The staff is so friendly and very accommodating. I applaud Brenda the manager and Janet for all their hard work. The location is great. Sometimes we don't even move our vehicle once we arrive since everything is in walking distance. We have stayed here for many years and will continue to stay for many more. If you are looking for a great place to stay check in at Surfside and see for yourself what a great place it is! I highly recommend it to everyone who is looking for a nice, clean place to stay with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for the great comments on the hotel and Brenda and Janet. They do work extremely hard as well as the entire staff. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We book yearly in May for our group from Creedmoor, NC. This year we had a wedding surf side and had about 17+ rooms booked. All our group was pleased with everything. Thank you Surfside Staff for another wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankandlisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for the great response. So glad your wedding party enjoyed their stay and we hope that you will come back for years to come. Congrats!! Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews