We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in this motel in March 2013, we chose it because of the price. I guess we should have known better ( you get what you pay for). The view from the balcony was lovely but the room smelled musty and stale, the carpet was old indoor /outdoor. The bed felt like it had metal springs and squeaked whenever we moved. The closet had a rod but no hangers, the bedspread was old. The location was very appealing but I didn't feel comfortable staying in this very old and dilapidated room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MACY819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize about the smell of the room. We are evaluating the rooms to determine what was the issue with your room. We do have fresheners and clean the carpet on a consistent basis. It has just came to my attention that some of the rooms are having issues with the carpert, which was installed last year. The installer is coming out this week to address. Also, we had all the mattresses replaced last year but will address the foundations this year. I'm not sure why there were no hangars in your room but we have addressed this with our staff and have ordered a new shipment to ensure we don't run out. We are working hard to update the rooms as we took over the property last year. We do appreciate travelers like yourself who can help us to find ways to improve service and amenities. Glad to know you liked the view. We do have a great location and will continue to improve the hotel. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 247 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

I honestly can't believe this place is still in business. I could barely sleep because it was freezing & the walls were thin as ever. it was smaller than the dorm I lived in freshman year of college with a shower fitted for a size 0. The television had a 10 inch screen and there were few channels. Toilet wouldn't flush and the bed comforters were stained. I refused to sleep under or on the covers. The ONLY benefit to staying here is the easy access to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank troubledtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Our property is an older property and considered a Mom and Pop type hotel. We definitely don't have the amenties of the typical branded hotel. I do appreciate that you scored our service 5 circles. We do have a great location and we do everything we can to keep the property immaculate. Again, sorry that our property wasn't what you were hoping. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you're desire is for elegance, then this is not your place. If you're wanting breathtaking views, charming and clean lodging, warm and personable staff and the beach a stone's throw away, then you'll receive all you paid for and more. We watched the sunrise from our balcony and captured a beautiful orange sky at sunset. Some of the interior is dated a bit, but clean and hospitable. Quiet, relaxing and God added all the beauty! We're coming back!

Room Tip: Beach side rooms are best but the beach it's self is only a short walk over the path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

What a great review. Thank you so much. Yes our property is a little older but we do all we can to ensure it's clean and well maintained. Also, thank you for the kind comments on our staff. They work extremely hard and want to make sure that all of our guests are taken care of. Hope to see you soon. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have really enjoyed our stay, The front dest and the entire staff are so nice and courteous. We did not have to spend a fortune, the prices are great and you can walk to where you want to go, I know we will be back!! It is hard to find any motel that values customer service, again, thank you to the staff here at Surfside Lodge!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gina967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review our property. I do consider our property a great value for an ocean front property. Our staff works so hard to make everyone feel welcomed and they really care and it shows. So glad to hear you will be back for another visit. Again, thank you for the review. Barry E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you're looking for something fancy, then Surfside is NOT for you. If you're looking for a basic room with a great view, a friendly management and housekeeping staff, easy access to the beach, and within walking distance to the boardwalk...book here.

They have done some remodeling, and while it looks better, it's mostly cosmetic. The bathrooms are out of date, some showers need MAJOR work, and a few of the balcony rails are wobbly (but newly painted). But the rates are reasonable, and the location makes it easy to overlook the "negative" things.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is worth the small extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your review. I believe it was very fair. We have started to work on the bathrooms and you should see a big improvement on your next visit. We have started to bring in our painting crews to address the entire property. I appreciate your comments on our management, staff and cleanliness. It is truly appreciated. Barry E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Surfside. The room was spotless.(Thank you Marie).It was close to everything. We stayed a week and didn't move the car. The restaurants were delicious. Loved the marina being across the street. The Taco Stand right there was so good. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Marty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. Marie and our housekeeping staff work extremely hard. I know she will appreciate your review. Our property does put you near so many things to walk to. We are glad you were able to experience so much during your stay. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Barry E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

DIRTY ROOMS. The shower head and handle are coverrd with mildew. Everything in the room is broken or missing. The kitchen had a few plastic forks and nothing else. We paid extra for the kitchen and two bedrooms, one of which is just a bed in the kitchen. The staff lied and said you could see the ocean. Never again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We apologize for the stay you just experienced. I hope you had a chance to address your issues with our management. I will be personnaly speaking to our staff to determine what happened with your room. I apologize if anyone mislead you with the oceanview. We are directly on the ocean but the only rooms that truly have the view are on the front side of the hotel and on the second floor. This is the case for most of the properties our size on the island due to the size of the dunes in front our hotels. Again, I truly apologize for your stay. Please feel free to call the hotel and ask for my personal number and I would be more than happy to speak with you. Thank you for taking time to review us and please know that we will continue to improve our overall processes and standards. Barry E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.4 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
57 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oceaneer Motel
Oceaneer Motel
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Address: 234 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6111 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range: $71 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Surfside Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Motor Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Motel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing