We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again ...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Again ...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I honestly can't believe this place is still in business. I could barely sleep because it was freezing & the walls were thin as ever. it was smaller than the dorm I lived in freshman year of college with a shower fitted for a size 0. The television had a 10 inch screen and there were few channels. Toilet wouldn't flush and the bed comforters were stained. I refused to sleep under or on the covers. The ONLY benefit to staying here is the easy access to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troubledtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Our property is an older property and considered a Mom and Pop type hotel. We definitely don't have the amenties of the typical branded hotel. I do appreciate that you scored our service 5 circles. We do have a great location and we do everything we can to keep the property immaculate. Again, sorry that our property wasn't what you were hoping. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    43
    27
    19
    48
See reviews for
94
53
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you're desire is for elegance, then this is not your place. If you're wanting breathtaking views, charming and clean lodging, warm and personable staff and the beach a stone's throw away, then you'll receive all you paid for and more. We watched the sunrise from our balcony and captured a beautiful orange sky at sunset. Some of the interior is dated a bit, but clean and hospitable. Quiet, relaxing and God added all the beauty! We're coming back!

Room Tip: Beach side rooms are best but the beach it's self is only a short walk over the path.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
What a great review. Thank you so much. Yes our property is a little older but we do all we can to ensure it's clean and well maintained. Also, thank you for the kind comments on our staff. They work extremely hard and want to make sure that all of our guests are taken care of. Hope to see you soon. Barry Eagle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Garden, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have really enjoyed our stay, The front dest and the entire staff are so nice and courteous. We did not have to spend a fortune, the prices are great and you can walk to where you want to go, I know we will be back!! It is hard to find any motel that values customer service, again, thank you to the staff here at Surfside Lodge!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gina967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our property. I do consider our property a great value for an ocean front property. Our staff works so hard to make everyone feel welcomed and they really care and it shows. So glad to hear you will be back for another visit. Again, thank you for the review. Barry E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you're looking for something fancy, then Surfside is NOT for you. If you're looking for a basic room with a great view, a friendly management and housekeeping staff, easy access to the beach, and within walking distance to the boardwalk...book here.

They have done some remodeling, and while it looks better, it's mostly cosmetic. The bathrooms are out of date, some showers need MAJOR work, and a few of the balcony rails are wobbly (but newly painted). But the rates are reasonable, and the location makes it easy to overlook the "negative" things.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is worth the small extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. I believe it was very fair. We have started to work on the bathrooms and you should see a big improvement on your next visit. We have started to bring in our painting crews to address the entire property. I appreciate your comments on our management, staff and cleanliness. It is truly appreciated. Barry E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Surfside. The room was spotless.(Thank you Marie).It was close to everything. We stayed a week and didn't move the car. The restaurants were delicious. Loved the marina being across the street. The Taco Stand right there was so good. We will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Marie and our housekeeping staff work extremely hard. I know she will appreciate your review. Our property does put you near so many things to walk to. We are glad you were able to experience so much during your stay. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Barry E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

DIRTY ROOMS. The shower head and handle are coverrd with mildew. Everything in the room is broken or missing. The kitchen had a few plastic forks and nothing else. We paid extra for the kitchen and two bedrooms, one of which is just a bed in the kitchen. The staff lied and said you could see the ocean. Never again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We apologize for the stay you just experienced. I hope you had a chance to address your issues with our management. I will be personnaly speaking to our staff to determine what happened with your room. I apologize if anyone mislead you with the oceanview. We are directly on the ocean but the only rooms that truly have the view are on the front side of the hotel and on the second floor. This is the case for most of the properties our size on the island due to the size of the dunes in front our hotels. Again, I truly apologize for your stay. Please feel free to call the hotel and ask for my personal number and I would be more than happy to speak with you. Thank you for taking time to review us and please know that we will continue to improve our overall processes and standards. Barry E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carolina Beach hotels

Rockwell, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great place to stay,i bring my family a couple times a year and stay here every time.The staff is great,easy access to beach,two pools and so close to the boardwalk.Rates are reasonable and great parking.Once there u really have no need to drive,everything is so close.I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for you kind words about our property. We do have a great location which puts you within walking distance of so many things to do. Again, thank you for taking time to review our property and we look forward to your next visit. Barry E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#2 of 3 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Property: Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Address: 234 Carolina Beach Avenue North, Carolina Beach, NC 28428 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Surfside Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Motor Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Motel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing