We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
reidsville
1 review
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

Me and my mom took my 5 year old son for one night, so we wanted somewhere cheap to stay, well we got it. We had planned on sleeping in the SUV and we wished we would have. We all only got 2 hours of sleep cause the bed was like sleeping on 2 by 4 boards and there was dust everywhere. No telephone or alarm clock. The small balcony door was held shut by a wooden stick. The pool had loud vulgar mouthed teenagers drinking and smoking something other than cigarettes. Not a place to have my son and I'm usually not very picky at all. I hate that we spent our money on this so we could have a shower and access to the beach and pool.

  • Liked — cable tv
  • Disliked — hard bed
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sethsmamabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    43
    27
    19
    48
See reviews for
94
53
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

If you are sitting at home, contemplating a romantic, spontaneous trip to the beach, do NOT book a room here. Heck, if you are planning a quick, cheap trip with the boys, do NOT book a room. In fact, if you relate best to Pigpen of Charlie Brown lore, even YOU do NOT want to stay here. This was the most despicable motel I have ever seen (in my United States motel stays). It is overpriced for a smelly, unclean, un-inspiring "beachfront" motel. The "beachfront" view includes a parking lot and no private balcony. We actually left at 6am in the morning to get the heck out of there. In general, don't go to Carolina Beach. There are more beautiful, clean beaches. We will never return unless we are celebrating the closing of the Surfside Motel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mhayes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carolina Beach hotels

west virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2007

first the price was outrageous after we seen the condition the place was in....NO TELEPHONE..no working smoke alarms...the whole place was
dirty..beds hard...floor worn and dirty..no bolt on the door, staff wasn't helpful at all..didn't clean..made our beds one time, people kept us up all hours. dirt and bugs, odor, trash outside the room that was never picked up...this place needs to be condemed..it is a health threat..i wouldn't stay again for free

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2007

I have never felt so unsafe in a hotel before. There was about 5 young guys hanging around the check in office that were not even staying there, they were hanging out with one of the employees, and playing loud music and drinking. When me and my friend were walking up to our room, they all stared at us the whole time. The room smelled horrible, the locks on the doors did not work, only the cold water worked, the lighting was horrible, the frig smelled like mold, the beds were very hard and kept me up most of the night, there was bugs in the room, I had to kill two of them, the toilet ran all night long, the tv reception was horrible, the windows did not lock and could just slide right open, and that doesnt even cover everything!! They seriously need to either shut this place down, or remodel everything that there is inside of it. I would not recommend this place to anyone, especially girls that are traveling by themselves, it is a very dangerous place to stay.

  • Liked — There was nothing good about this place
  • Disliked — The nasty room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrittanyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH CAROLINA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

Me and my friend stayed here over the weekend and the only thing good about the place was the location...the chain on the door was broken, the back patio door was held shut by a wooden stick and the window by the front door just slides open and had no lock...it was quite scary. we also killed 2 roaches while we were there and the beds were extremely hard. i suggest they remodel the entire hotel or lower the prices.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay there
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMY1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2006

My Husband and I stayed at SURFSIDE for the first time in June. Great walking distance to the Boardwalk and such, nice pool, and great service. On the other hand, the room was a bit dirty, bed was hard as a brick, and the shower head was so low i had to squat to wash my hair. If we were to ever return to carolina beach, we would probably stay there again because of the prices.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2006

We have been staying at Surfside for over 15 yrs !!! Love it !! Its the only place we ever stay . We go like 4 times a year. Its good because everything is near by. Who wonts to drive around your whole vacation???? You can park and enjoy. Just about everything is walking view.
The staff has been great over the years,,,they were new owners this year ,,,but we felt nothing had changed. Was glad they were open again this year.
So when coming to CB stay at the Surfside.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#2 of 3 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Property: Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Address: 234 Carolina Beach Avenue North, Carolina Beach, NC 28428 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Motor Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Motel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing