We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, comfortable and the staff is outstanding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have really enjoyed our stay, The front dest and the entire staff are so nice and courteous. We did not have to spend a fortune, the prices are great and you can walk to where you want to go, I know we will be back!! It is hard to find any motel that values customer service, again, thank you to the staff here at Surfside Lodge!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gina967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review our property. I do consider our property a great value for an ocean front property. Our staff works so hard to make everyone feel welcomed and they really care and it shows. So glad to hear you will be back for another visit. Again, thank you for the review. Barry E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 248 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you're looking for something fancy, then Surfside is NOT for you. If you're looking for a basic room with a great view, a friendly management and housekeeping staff, easy access to the beach, and within walking distance to the boardwalk...book here.

They have done some remodeling, and while it looks better, it's mostly cosmetic. The bathrooms are out of date, some showers need MAJOR work, and a few of the balcony rails are wobbly (but newly painted). But the rates are reasonable, and the location makes it easy to overlook the "negative" things.

Room Tip: An ocean view room is worth the small extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your review. I believe it was very fair. We have started to work on the bathrooms and you should see a big improvement on your next visit. We have started to bring in our painting crews to address the entire property. I appreciate your comments on our management, staff and cleanliness. It is truly appreciated. Barry E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Surfside. The room was spotless.(Thank you Marie).It was close to everything. We stayed a week and didn't move the car. The restaurants were delicious. Loved the marina being across the street. The Taco Stand right there was so good. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Marty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. Marie and our housekeeping staff work extremely hard. I know she will appreciate your review. Our property does put you near so many things to walk to. We are glad you were able to experience so much during your stay. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Barry E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

DIRTY ROOMS. The shower head and handle are coverrd with mildew. Everything in the room is broken or missing. The kitchen had a few plastic forks and nothing else. We paid extra for the kitchen and two bedrooms, one of which is just a bed in the kitchen. The staff lied and said you could see the ocean. Never again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We apologize for the stay you just experienced. I hope you had a chance to address your issues with our management. I will be personnaly speaking to our staff to determine what happened with your room. I apologize if anyone mislead you with the oceanview. We are directly on the ocean but the only rooms that truly have the view are on the front side of the hotel and on the second floor. This is the case for most of the properties our size on the island due to the size of the dunes in front our hotels. Again, I truly apologize for your stay. Please feel free to call the hotel and ask for my personal number and I would be more than happy to speak with you. Thank you for taking time to review us and please know that we will continue to improve our overall processes and standards. Barry E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great place to stay,i bring my family a couple times a year and stay here every time.The staff is great,easy access to beach,two pools and so close to the boardwalk.Rates are reasonable and great parking.Once there u really have no need to drive,everything is so close.I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you so much for you kind words about our property. We do have a great location which puts you within walking distance of so many things to do. Again, thank you for taking time to review our property and we look forward to your next visit. Barry E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family stayed at the Surfside Lodge in August 2012. We were lucky to find such a great place ! Nice, clean rooms. great staff. Walking distance to all that my family needed to have a great get away ! Oceanfront and two pools,,what more can you ask for ? The Surfside reminds you of what a Beach Motel is supposed to be !

Cannot wait to stay again !

Room Tip: Spend the little bit extra for the Ocean Front,,,,the view from the balcony alone is worth the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown142, Owner at Surfside Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for the review. We are definitely a Beach Motel and proud of how we treat people and how we try to give every guest a great experience. When we receive reviews like this it really encourages the staff to do better. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again. Barry E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Surfside Motor Lodge at Carolina Beach. Great location. In walking distance of restaurants, boardwalk, and nightlife. Extrememly friendly staff. Great parking and good price. I hope to stay there again on our next beach trip. Big room and big bathroom. You won't regret your stay.

Room Tip: Great view if you get an oceanfront room. No elevator so you will have to walk up some stairs but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkkimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Lodge Oceanfront

Address: 234 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6111 (Formerly Surfside Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range: $79 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Surfside Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Motor Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Hotel Carolina Beach
Surfside Motel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing