We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, but poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed in this B&B for two nights off-season. The hosts are great and very friendly and we even got a free upgrade. The B&B is located in a very quiet street, about 50 yards from a beautiful beach. If you are into nightlife this place may not be for you but if you are looking for quiet and peace you will likely love it. Rooms (we tried two different ones) are a bit small but very nice and superclean. The breakfast was... terrible, but not for lack of trying. Honestly, I write this with no ill-feeling, because the hosts, like I said, were really great. But, without going into details, they just do not have a clue about cooking! Overall, I would go back and I would recommend this place. On the other hand, their peak season prices are high (like everywhere else in the area, as far as I can see) and probably I would choose another off-season period (and skip breakfast!).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 243 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2010

As we were looking for a weekend to relax, The Beacon House was in a nice location and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

Our tip for others would be to carefully consider the rooms and the options that they offer. We were located in the main house and the noise level was louder that we anticipated. This was probably just due to loud voices and the coming and going of individuals in the common areas. I do believe that there are other options that would make this experience more relaxing.

I would recommend this B&B if we had stayed in a quieter area of the facility.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We've only stayed at one other B&B, so I don't have a lot to compare to, but everything was as promised: friendly proprietors, comfy beds, clean rooms, good location, and really spectacular breakfasts. The only suggestions I would make for this to be an even better experience would be:
1. To have coffee available 24/7, perhaps by placing a small maker on top of the refrigerator on each floor and providing filter/cups/grounds
2. To have other beverages (e.g., sodas, bottled water) available 24/7 in the fridge--if not complimentary, then on the honor system.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XtremeGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Our stay at the Beacon House was absolutely amazing! This was our first B&B experience and the bar was set very high. Immediately upon check-in Tammy and David made us feel so welcome. The Beacon House was so warm and inviting it was very easy to relax. The breakfast that was served every morning was amazing. It was just like meeting in mom's kitchen before school. I am pretty sure that we saved a ton of money on lunch because breakfast kept us full all day. To top it all off...my husband and I got married on the beach. Tammy made our wedding day a true celebration. We enjoyed some champagne on the porch with new friends and the resident beach cat Noodles. Tammy even got us a delicious cake with the cutest little chocolate shells. The stay, the area, and the people could not have been better! We cannot wait to return! You are missing out until you stay at the Beacon House!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsuemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I was at Beacon House for business so I didn't get the full experience that was available. It is only a block off the beach and there is public access 1/2 block away. Tammy and Dave, the innkeepers, were great, as was the price for the location. I guess there aren't many B&Bs at Carolina Beach, so this is a prized find that I will visit again. I didn't get a chance to have breakfast so my review on that isn't informed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lylesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

The breakfast both mornings was so delicious! David makes a great breakfast! I loved the giant comfy bed, too. Tammy and David are friendly and helpful. They were very accommodating and even made some decaf coffee especially for me.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmeliaHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We came to the cottage for a weekend away from our husbands to do some rubber stamping. We stayed in cottage 3 and loved it. We had plenty of space to spread out and have fun making our hand-made cards. The shower was great! Although we did not get to have breakfast at the inn... we did think that Tammy and David were very hospitable and were very quick to make our stay the best.

The beach was just across the street and very easy to walk to. We stayed in the whole time due to nasty weather but there was a Food Lion not too far for easy grocery shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel4stampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.4 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#1 of 3 in Carolina Beach
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 715 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carolina Beach
Price Range: $154 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the beach, this vintage 1950's boarding house has been converted into a distinctively casual bed and breakfast that specializes in warm hospitality, unique accommodations and artisan breakfasts served with gourmet coffee. The décor features tongue-in-groove original pine board walls, vintage photographs and memorabilia blended with modern amenities. The Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast also features an on-site massage therapy room and packages that range from romance to spa and yoga. Seasonal specials are also available. Traveling with your furry friend or small children? Two cozy two-bedroom vacation cottages are available for visitors with pets and/or children and are located directly behind the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon House Hotel Carolina Beach
Beacon House Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing