We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, and Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed at the Beacon House because we had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, and we were pleasantly surprised. When we arrived, everyone was very friendly. Our room had no toilet paper, but the staff were more than happy to toss us a roll. Our room was very cozy and warm. Be forewarned that if you come in December, all the shops will be closed.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lookasandellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 245 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2008

I travel with my dog and I love this place. They have two cottages where you can stay with pets. This time I stayed a week at cottage 3 with my 77 pound dog, and my sister and her family (two other adults and two children). It was the perfect size for three adults and two children and a dog. We cooked and ate dinner at the kitchen table every night but one when we went out for seafood at the Harbor Master restaurant where the food was excellent - I highly recomment the shrimp and cheese grits! The same night we ate out, it was a Thursday night and they always have fireworks at 9:00 every Thursday night at Carolina Beach so we then got to see the fireworks display. We took our own beach chairs and umbrellas to the cottage as we knew there were none available to rent but you can drive and get some at Walmart on College Road near UNC-Wilmington if you need any. The porch is an additional benefit as it makes the whole cottage seem roomier. I was worried about the one bath in the cottage for up to 6 people until I got there and was thrilled to find that the one bathroom and the one shower are separate so when someone was taking a shower, they were not hogging the bathroom as well. There was also an outside shower for getting the sand off when returning from the beach. I love to jump in my car with my dog and head to Carolina Beach Lake Park every morning and night where my dog can walk and interact with other dogs. The park even provides bags to pick up after your dog. Every Sunday the park has an outdoor movie for the kids. It also has paddle boats. Back to the B&B though. Bedding and towels are all provided. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are all a good size. The kitchen has a coffee maker and most any thing you might need pot and pan wise to cook meals. (There are many restaurants to go to if you want to eat out every night - I recommend driving to Kure Beach and trying some there as well) . The carpet had definitely seen better days but it is what I expect for a place at the beach where pets are allowed. What I really like about this place is you do not have to bring your own bedding, clean the place when you get there and then clean it (or have it cleaned) when you leave which is what one has to do when one rents most beach cottages. And usually the only way I can take my dog with me is to rent a beach cottage. Here, all you have to do is show up and make the beds. It is clean when you get there, you enjoy yourself for however long your reservation is for, and then you pack up and leave when your time is up. No dirty bedding, dirty towels or cleaning to worry about - you leave it all for the Inn to clean and replace. The staff do not bother you at all during your stay but they are only a phone call away if you have a question or concern. We could not connect to the wi fi and learned if was difficult in Cottage 3 since it is the farthest spot from the Inn but we found we could sit out on the porch and connect fine. The beach is across the street but is very convenient. If you want to go hang out at a comfortable place with your pooch (or two) and some family or friends, this is a great place.

Thank grivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

A great experience! Good food. Congenial and friendly staff! Just across the street from the beach. Within walking distance to the boardwalk area. Great two story front porch for relaxing on - at any tme. And the facilities were clean and neat and, attractive.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank z7jhs0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I have stayed at Many B&Bs, but none quite as lame as this one. The only benefit of this place was its location-it is actually located right across from the beach, but you would've questioned that given that many of the other "amenities" listed on their website and even in the room binder were no longer available. I asked for beach chair loans (listed on website ) and was told they no longer did that. i inquired about an evening snack and was told they no longer offer a snack(though it was listed in the room binder). Both times, jackie 9hist) asked where I saw that I could have these things and said she'd been meaning to update the website and binders. I asked for decaf coffee at breakfast and was told they did not offer decaf. The shower curtain was moldy. Upon arrival, I wanted to take a nap and pulled back the covers and the sheets were wet. It turns out, the bedding located below the sheets-mattress cover was still wet from the washer-instead of aplogizing, the host, jackie, made up an excuse for the wet sheets. I'm hoping they were wet from the wash and had nothing to do with the pee stains on the mattress cover. Our room did not have any soap and we had to request that too. It was pretty ridiculous. The breakfasts were okay, but nothing super fancy (which I did not expect after the above listed issues).
I was happy to get out of there and get home. Also, the rooms are tiny-like a sardine can and I'm not exaggerating-the pictures and info online are deceiving. I would not recommend this place to anyone unless they were desperate and there was nowhere ealse to stay in Carolina Beach.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank catluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

My boyfirend and I chose to stay at this B&B instead of a hotel in order to escape our daily grind. Our expecations were exceeded by leaps and bounds. We stayed in the Romance Suite and were so pleased to find the most comfortable sofa around in the den area, a good size bathroom, and a comfortable bedroom. Jacki was exceptional at helping us plan our bike rides, walks, dinners, and anything else we came up with. We indulged in massages from Denise who was amazing and turned our Sunday into a day of staring aimlessly as we recovered from our wonderful massages. We will definately come back to enjoy the conversation, hospitality, and massages!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bdmncsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Stayed two nights in March, 2008 in the hot tub room. The room is spacious, the common areas comfortable, the hot tub clean, and the bed very comfortable. Jacki was very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast, while not gourmet, was filling and tasty and included fresh fruit, juice, and coffee along with the standard breakfast fare of eggs and meat or waffles and meat. The coffee was great.

Beach is a very short walk away and if you are up for a walk of a 6-8 blocks, you can get to a couple of decent restaurants from the B&B (check out the new Shuck N Shack for some very casual oysters and a beverage). The boardwalk area at Carolina Beach is struggling a little with lots of vacancy and some renovation work being done. However, if you want a relatively quiet beach getaway in a very comfortable house, with a fairly short drive into Wilmington, this is a good choice. Hikes at the nearby state park and a visit to the aquarium are pleasant additions.

I would definitely stay at this B&B on any future visit to Carolina Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

I visited the Beacon House (cottage #1) with my fiancee and we were pleased -- quiet location, very close to the beach, the fridge was stocked with breakfast items (bacon, eggs, milk, coffee, bread, OJ, cereal), and very clean and tidy. With just the two of us, there was plenty of room, but it may have been tight with additional folks or little ones. The innkeeper, Jackie, is very accomodating and nice; she made sure we had everything we needed. Carolina Beach, if you've never been, is unlike Myrtle Beach and other "touristy," party beaches. The speed here is a little slower, and the Beacon House matches that vibe well. So if you're looking to take it easy for your vacation, we recommend this spot.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank Debbie-Brandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
1.6 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
10.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
0.6 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#1 of 3 in Carolina Beach
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 715 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6018
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carolina Beach
Price Range: $154 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the beach, this vintage 1950's boarding house has been converted into a distinctively casual bed and breakfast that specializes in warm hospitality, unique accommodations and artisan breakfasts served with gourmet coffee. The décor features tongue-in-groove original pine board walls, vintage photographs and memorabilia blended with modern amenities. The Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast also features an on-site massage therapy room and packages that range from romance to spa and yoga. Seasonal specials are also available. Traveling with your furry friend or small children? Three cozy vacation cottages are available for visitors with pets and/or children and are located directly behind the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon House Inn b&b
Beacon House Hotel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing