We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, delicious breakfast, kind hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Beacon House for a long weekend in late March and really enjoyed our stay. Tammy and David were lovely hosts, providing great advice on activities and places to eat. They were tuned in to all the little details like making sure there were wine bottle openers and wine glasses nearby so we didn't have to go looking for them. The breakfasts were wonderful and very filling - David did a great job each morning. The B&B was a very short walk (maybe 3 minutes) to the beach, and also within walking distance to the little boardwalk in Carolina Beach. We really enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank DCDeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

I am a first year school teacher and my wife is a corrections officer. We decided on the spur of the moment that we needed a relaxing getaway and went to Carolina Beach. Our room at the Beacon House was exactly what we were looking for! It was quiet and comfortable. We had a two person jacuzzi tub in the room and enjoyed being able to walk on the beach in the morning before breakfast. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were very pleasant. The rooms were clean and we were very satisfied. If you are looking for a great romantic getaway then this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennismichele_shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Tammy and David are pleasant hosts. The property is well maintained and the grounds are well kept. Easy access to the beach. We stayed in Cottage 2 which was comfortable for three adults. Rooms were clean when we checked in. Free wireless internet is available. Full size fridge, oven, toaster, coffee maker, pots pans etc. Would be nice to have a microwave for warming up food. Two parking spaces were provided for us, no road noise at night which made sleeping very comfortable. Pets are allowed in the cottages but I did not find any animal hair or doggy smell. The Beacon House is on my list for future visits. Thanks Tammy and David, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jthangiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We loved our night stay at Beacon House. The room was very nice, and the location was great. It is located right across the street from the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed in the Whirlpool Suite. The 2 person jacuzzi was perfect for relaxing after a day at the beach. The room was comfortable and well appointed. Dave and Tammy provided wonderful breakfasts each morning and were incredibly helpful in answering questions about the area, local restaurants and things to do.

The Inn is located across from a wonderful stretch of beach. It is also within walking distance of several excellent restaurants. Even though the Inn was fully booked for the holiday weekend, there was never excessive noise in the common areas or the hallway outside our room. The two front porches provide great places to sit, relax, people watch and enjoy the breeze coming in off the ocean.

The only problem we had was that one night from about 3 a.m. to 4 a.m. the people renting one of the duplex units next door to the Inn had gotten drunk and started partying to loud music, drunken singing, shouting and laughing on their balcony which is directly adjacent to the window to the Whirlpool Suite. We weren't sure if we should go outside and try to ask them to keep it down or call the police. Eventually, their party petered out and we were able to get back to sleep. Other than that, we didn't have any problems at all with the Inn or its incredible hosts, Tammy and Dave!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We spent a week in the 3 bedroom cottage. We needed to bring our hypo allergenic Siberian cat along, because she is a people cat and would have been a psycho cat if we had locked her up in a cage for a week in the kennel. I am allergic to most cats and dogs, so I was unsure if I wanted to stay in a place that allowed pets even though I own one, because the dust and dander make me sneeze badly. So when we walked into this place we were very happy to see wood floors, actually engineered wood floors to be precise, which provide a tighter fit so it is easy to clean. So no carpet for all the pet dander and fur to hide in. The flooring look very new too and I did not sneeze once the whole time I was there. Which is saying something for how clean the place is!

The inside of the cottage was very clean and nice looking. The bedding was decent too and clean. Even the covers were clean which in some places do not wash often if ever.

The kitchen has a microwave that works. And the stove worked, but the vent above it does not. Actually, the vent is the only thing I would criticize in the whole setup since there is no screen on it from the outside so the flies can and do come in. It took a couple of days for us to realize that is how they were getting into the place. This is the only reason I did not give it a 5. I should have mentioned this to the staff so they could fix it, but I forgot. Me bad.

The beach is a short 2-3 minute walk from the cottage. It was easy to cross the street to get to the beach access. There is no sidewalk on the street right there, but there is a bike path and parking lot across the street to walk on safely.

The beach was excellent. About 100 ft of dunes and 100 ft of sand before the water.

Parking was easy.

Tammy and David were very helpful and cheerful! And we did put David through some work. We had to replace a door lock to the front door. The sand/beach had destroyed it, and he had it replaced in a couple of hours of being told about it. So the staff is very responsive.

Overall a very enjoyable experience. And we plan on going back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

If you've never tried a "bed and breakfast" this is the one to try. Inn keepers were wonderful and extremely responsive to our every need. Accomodations were lovely and especially enjoyed the time at breakfast talking to other guests. The beach was only a 3 minute walk across the street and restauralnts were close and reasonably priced.

Highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
1.6 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
10.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
0.6 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#1 of 3 in Carolina Beach
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 715 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6018
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carolina Beach
Price Range: $154 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the street from the beach, this vintage 1950's boarding house has been converted into a distinctively casual bed and breakfast that specializes in warm hospitality, unique accommodations and artisan breakfasts served with gourmet coffee. The décor features tongue-in-groove original pine board walls, vintage photographs and memorabilia blended with modern amenities. The Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast also features an on-site massage therapy room and packages that range from romance to spa and yoga. Seasonal specials are also available. Traveling with your furry friend or small children? Three cozy vacation cottages are available for visitors with pets and/or children and are located directly behind the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Beacon House Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon House Inn b&b
Beacon House Hotel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing