We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the hotel”
Review of Dolphin Lane Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carolina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Lane Motel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We were put out of another local hotel because we complained that our room was dirty. We went to them with no where else to go. They were very accomadating and very helpful. The room was clean, the view to the beach was great and when we went to the pool the owners were there with their children. I felt a very homely feel to this place and will return there every time we go to the beach. YOU GUYS ARE GREAT!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paradiseandkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 85 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2008

Well we decied to stay at Dolphin Lane motel cause the pictures looked very nice on the internet but when we got there oh my gosh. I could not belive at first i thought well this is ok well when i opened the door i seen cock roaches on there back well i thought ok i can get over this well by night fall i really seen them come out of there shell. My son had a asthma attack due to the mold and dust and ended up in urgent care center and the beds were i believe as old as the motel. Also look under the pillow case before you sleep on them i found out they have brown stains on them so they do not wash them they just put a new pillow case on them.Well housekeeping came the next day with just a vacum cleaner and towel and washcloths and a cigarette in her mouth very professional never cleaned our restroom or anything not even the sheets. So all i'm saying i would not recommend this the people are nice but between the parking being tight and it just being dirty its not the greatest.:)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Savannah26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Yes, It was built in the 1950's. But it is a great example of an old style beach hotel in a family beach area. The balcony looked over the dune to the water maybe 250 to 350 feet away. People who are slamming it have not spent much time near the ocean. Those of us who have lived there, know the doors will swell up and be difficult to close. So what? If you want a posh resort, do not go here. If you want a fun time at the beach and that's all, this is great. Small kitchenette and table, great balcony, walk to local stores and town center for fireworks. I would really recommend as a base for fishing trip in October, November when Blues and Mackerel and other types have their runs. Staff helpful. Good experience. Don't get bent out of shape about old hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rcbClinton_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

I visited dolphin lane motel as a family vacation in june. the staff were very helpful and curitosy. the overall motel was what we expected and the room was roomy and clean. the housekeeping was trustful and got the rooms clean too. The pool was ok,but alittle small and the parking was ok to. if there wasn't any parking in the lot you had to park across the street,but it was just a short walk. we had a oceanside efficeceny and it had great veiw of the ocean. overall i would go back on my next vacation here. thanks for letting us stay.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mommy3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

There was a time when going to the Ocean for a vacation and staying in a motel was mysical. That feeling of excitement as you pushed open the wooden door, often swollen from humidity, the chain lock still rocking back and forth as you walked real fast across the room and opened your room's very own back door - sudden ear pounding surf and seagulls. I've stayed in 4 & 5 Star Spas and Hotels oceanside. But this time, I didn't want "perfect." I needed to return to a simple sea cottage and I got it here. The people were exceptionally friendly. Each balcony now has petitions for privacy. Like most hotels on the ocean, tall dunes prevent an ocean view if you're on the first floor - a nessary part of storm life. We stayed on the second story. Although room had air conditioner, we didn't use it. We left the back door open so we could hear pounding surf all night - frightening when the tide comes in. Occasionally turned on the cable TV and occasionally used laptop. WiFi works best on front porch, couldn't get anything on back balcony or inside room. The kitchenette was delightful. Dishes had been thoroughly cleaned. Small efficient stove with oven, a microwave & refrigerator - all I needed to prepare meals. What was I thinking when I bought that monster range at home. The pillow-top bed was an unexpected surprise. Walking into the little town of Carolina Beach (which is undergoing a much needed face-lift), was easy. We discovered backing the car into the motel's parking lot easier for getting out. Enough room for everybody; just think, when this motel was first built, cars were much bigger. I believe the town of Carolina Beach will boom; hope the tiny bit of "Miami Vice-like" 1930's retro architecture stays. So sad to see white-collar synthetic Condo ghettos go up, hiding all that was once perfect and mystical.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank daffodilsunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed here ONE night in April 2008. We were traveling around the North Carolina southern coastal area and contacted the Dolphin Lane directly on a Friday afternoon and were told there were plenty of rooms available for either a two or three night stay. That should have warned us. We arrived and were given a 1st floor room. When we entered the room we found it to be dirty, stunk of cigarette smoke (after requesting a non-smoking room) and the view of the water turned out to be a view of the sand dunes. We the asked for a room on the second floor, which they provided with no complaints. The second room was only marginally cleaner, the floor was greasy, the rug soiled, damp, and hadn't been vaccumed lately. The bath was tiny and I mean tiny. Tiles were missing, no electrical outlet, bad lighting and no storage area for toilet articles. The "kitchen" was OK as long as you didn't want to use the stove or oven. DISGUSTING. After one night sleeping on what felt like a table top, we checked out and recieved a refund of the remaining nights. The staff was helpful and accommadating. But I would not reccomend this motel for anyone. On Carolina Beach and Kure Beach thereare mny other options.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
2  Thank CapeCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Normally stay at Atlantic Towers, but decided to try Dolphin Lane for a one night stay. We were put off by the parking, it was pretty bad. Very tight in the lot. The pool was FRIGID, and we could not enjoy it at all. The room looked nice, but upon closer inspection, the bathroom was cramped, and dirty. The tiles looked rather moldy. Carpet was dirty, and doors were not very secure. View from "balcony" was a sand dune. Beds were hard and uncomfortable. For the money, we should have stayed at Atlantic Towers. I won't make this mistake again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
1.2 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
0 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
10.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
0.1 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Lane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Lane Motel

Address: 318 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6113
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Dolphin Lane Hotel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing