We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burger and a Beer”

The Dive Food & Spirits
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
Restaurant details
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Burger and a Beer”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you are looking for a burger and beer while here on Pleasure Island....this is the place to get 'em!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    40
    10
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Local Bar”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Dive is a very friendly bar, so much so that we went to it two nights in a row. The service is great and recommended. Don't miss out on the Plinko game on one side of the bar (bring quarters).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McPhisto76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not very friendly on the phone”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We placed a take out order on the phone. I had to ask a couple questions about the wings because that part of the menu was not listed on their website. Or at least we couldn't see it from our phones. Two of us tried and all that came up was the sandwiches. We also checked Facebook and couldn't find a menu. I was ordering our food and after I asked a couple questions the girl told me, "look, I have about 30 people sitting here staring at me so if you want you can get your order together, you can call back". I didn't do that because I was almost done ordering and I had to ask the questions about the sauces and such since I didn't have a menu. Then when she got done she asked me how many orders of wings total and I told her 5 and of course we still came home with one missing (we only got 4) It wasn't that busy either when we picked up the food so the comment about "30 people staring at her" wasn't necessary, I waited on hold twice for her while she helped other people and that was fine.
The fish tacos were okay, needed more salsa or something. Lots of fish but rather dry, fries were good and the wings were pretty good. No sauce on the hot wings, it was more of a dry rub. But we all ate them. Not sure that we will return though after the way the girl was on the phone. I wish she would've just told me they didn't do take out orders.

Helpful?
Thank heather0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Okay restaurant, amazing fish taco”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stopped in this restaurant during a walking tour. The restaurant was not ready for us and we had a long wait for the food. While the place is cluttered and had a funny smell, the fish taco was absolutely amazing. While the over abundance of decorations could be overlooked, the odor inside the restaurant made it unpleasant. This place would be more pleasing after a good scrubbing. My wife would have walked out immediately if we weren't on the tour. Despite absolutely loving the fish taco, she's not sure she would return, stating the entire place smelled like they never cleaned the kitchen well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyandtheOldLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, NC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“One of those local hangouts that has good food.”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Located on the main drag The Dive is a nice place to grab a beer and a burger or wings. Lots of tvs, good food, good service. Love to sit and watch the crowds drift by on the street while enjoying a cold one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 122mackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dive Food & Spirits also viewed

Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to The Dive Food & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing