We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little pricey but GREAT food!”
Review of Deck House

Deck House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve some of the most delicious and fresh seafood and handcut steaks around. Come in to try one of our great wines or cocktails and if you are unsure of what to get a friend or family for a gift, our Gift Certificates will always make people happy! We do not accept reservations, however we do have a spacious full service bar for you to wait in if a table is not available right away.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A little pricey but GREAT food!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The Deck House was recommended by our hotel and it was within walking distance, so we gave it a try. The building is a old church, nicely converted for dining. The decor is nice, though rather dark. We found the place to be well maintained and quite clean. Our wait for seating was minimal. They have a nice selection of beer and wine from which to choose. The menu is a nice combination of seafood and non-seafood items with a gourmet flair. Bear in mind the entire menu is a little pricey even for the beach area. We started with the mozzarella cheese sticks and were pleasantly surprised with lightly battered cuts of cheese they had prepared right there, accompanied with a flavorful red sauce. So good! I had tired of seafood and chose the chicken alfredo which was featured. OMG, this was the most flavorful alfredo sauce. My other half chose the fried flounder and house potatoes. This was an equally delicious dish. The flounder was crispy outside and moist and flaky inside. It came with tartar and cocktail sauces that were very good and they had obviously made themselves. Our server was friendly and polite but his service was a bit clumsy. Even so, we had a great dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeachcombersNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
BeachcombersNC, Greetings! Thank you so much for letting us know about your dinner with us. I am so happy to hear that you found so much food that you loved! We appreciate your information about your meal and service. You can imagine all the (very dramatic) thoughts going through my head when you say our server was a bit clumsy. (I'm imagining wine glasses spilling everywhere, french onion soup dumped on the floor, someone getting slapped in the face accidentally with a whole fish, like something out of an Abbott and Costello movie!) Handling the busy-ness of summer with finesse is a skill that we are continually working with all of our staff on, and I do apologize if anything distracted from an otherwise lovely evening. I trust that nothing of that nature (the fish slapping/frenchonionspilling) happened, and if it did, I would whole heartedly expect to spoken with. Thank you for all of your feedback, I do hope that you could see the humor in what I have mentioned, we do hope you will be back soon! Thank you again! -Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    130
    42
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointment at the Beach”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We decided to try this restaurant for Father's Day dinner this year. We were excited - we had looked at the website menu and everything sounded wonderful! It was a bit pricey, but it was for a special celebration, so not really a problem. Three of us ordered from the Specialty menu and my husband ordered prime rib, which is only available on the weekends. The only good thing about the dinner was when it was over. The service was good, but the quality and taste of the food was very poor and disappointing. Not only was the food cold, but the tuna was tough and tasteless; the stuffed flounder appeared to be ground flounder with a few shrimp tossed in and covered in what they called a lobster sauce, and the prime rib was overcooked and too salty. It was not served with aujus, but in a puddle of salty broth. Our meal was over $150 and quite frankly, a better meal could have been had at Subway. Very disappointing and we will not go back to the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taylorshepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
taylorshepard, First off, may I please extend my apology for what sounds like an unpleasant experience here at The Deck House. Not to sound cliche, but ideally food is piping hot, cooked perfectly and seasoned 'to perfection'. I can only imagine how disappointed you must have felt after choosing to spend your Father's Day dinner with us, and having this type of experience with food that fell short. I do offer my apology and invite you back personally, should you give us the second chance. Thank you for letting us know about your experience, if anything, it shows us where we missed the mark, and what needs improvement. I do hope you have a wonderful summer. Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place at CB”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Another great dinner last night at the Deck House. We are partial to seafood there, but everything looks good. Plates and food were served steaming hot and the seafood is very fresh. Good service and we enjoyed a nice drink at the bar.

It's not over the top fancy, but I'm there to eat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KpfromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
KpfromNC, first off, thank you for being a returning guest! We appreciate your business time and time again! At The Deck House we take whatever we can from our reviews to learn anything that will help us serve our guests better. Thank you for leaving us your thoughts on your food, drinks and service. We do our best to get all three right! Thanks again, have a wonderful summer! Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus MS
Level Contributor
111 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Meal/Nice Bar”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Brought a group of 11 in for dinner last night. My biggest complaint is that they don't take reservations, even for large groups, and we had over a 30 min wait for seating. None of the restaurants are that busy down here right now, so I can't find that acceptable. However, had we been a group of 2 or 4, perhaps that would have been quicker. None the less, I had the Grouper Picanti which was quite good and most of the fish dishes went well for our group. My wife had the filet which she felt had minimal flavor, and added A1 sauce. The kids (4 of them) were not impressed with the food quality....so, we had mixed reviews. Service was good, once we finally were seated. They have a nice bar in the back, where you wait for seating. The ambiance is nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Sam J, thank you for taking a few moments to leave us your review of your dinner. I completely understand that going out to eat with a larger group can be quite the mission, having done it myself a few times, I can feel your pain when it comes to waiting. While I can not speak for other restaurants around here, we have found that not accepting reservations actually helps our flow of service and efficiency. We do whatever we can to make the wait quote accurate, the wait time enjoyable with our bar and lounge area, and then our dinner worth it. I'm sorry to hear you only felt-so-so with dinner once you sat down. We truly want to knock your socks off, and I apologize that we didn't quite do that for you. I do hope you will join us again soon and that this time it will be much better. Thank you again, Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great stuffs mushrooms”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Good service and tasty fried seafood, especially the oysters. Chefs vegetable of the day was a sautéed Brussels sprouts with bacon. Oh so good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tp1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Tp1971 Thanks for dropping us a review and telling us about your dinner with us! So glad you love those stuffed mushrooms and brussel sprouts! They are so scrumptious! Hope we get the chance to have you back with us again!-Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deck House also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Deck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing