We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit”
Review of Deck House

Deck House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We serve some of the most delicious and fresh seafood and handcut steaks around. Come in to try one of our great wines or cocktails and if you are unsure of what to get a friend or family for a gift, our Gift Certificates will always make people happy! We do not accept reservations, however we do have a spacious full service bar for you to wait in if a table is not available right away.
Altamont, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

One of our best meals while here in CB. We started with mussels. Perfectly cooked. I wish I had tried the marinara style.
Hubby had a fried seafood platter he said was good. I had crab legs and sirloin, both very good. The sirloin was tender and well seasoned.
Our waitress was so attentive and cheerful. Good evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you so much Paige G for your review of The Deck House! We appreciate when people let us know when we did well with our food and service, and also if we need improvement in any areas. We hope you will return and allow us to serve you again. Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    137
    48
    23
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Edible but.....”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Edible but not worth the money. Pretty skimpy serving size for the price. Restaurant was also very dark.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Judy P, Thank you for taking a few minutes to write about your review. I am so sorry that we weren't able to make a great impression on your while you were here. We do our best to provide the best quality of food and balance that with the cost. Compared to other restaurants in our area, we are one of the few that provides an option of a homemade chowder or salad and a side item WITH the meal. Most other full service restaurants on the island do not provide that with the entree, it is an extra cost. I hope you will return and maybe find something else on our menu that makes you a fan of our restaurant. Thank you again for leaving us a review, we do read and consider each one that is written. Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Class act”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

One of the best on my island.the peppercorn crusted tuna is great, apps r all special. We eat at the bar,class act wine list. Great atmosphere

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Michael K, Thanks for your review! We love getting feedback on our menu, food and service! Thank you for taking some time to do that! I am so happy that you like our wine list...we will be keeping our 1/2 bottles of wine deal (every Wednesday!) going through the summer. I hope you get the chance to take advantage of that deal sometime, and maybe try something out of the norm! Have a wonderful summer! Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently great and good variety”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I love this place because my husband can get a great reasonably price Filet or a Burger and I can get fresh fish, etc. They have some exceptional entrees unique to them. My favorite combines Scallops, Shrimp & pasta. Service is always great. Since the bar went non-smoking, I always love to start there. We've lived here for 14 years. Our complaint is only the crowds in the summer !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieCB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Charles S, We are so happy that you love dining with us, we are truly glad to have our local regulars that take care of us! And who can resist that Seafood Pasta with the shrimp and scallops!? It is delectable if I do say so myself! Thank you for being a loyal customer for so many years, we do appreciate your business. I know the crowds are huge in the summer, but if you do brave the crowds to visit us, we would be happy to have you! Thank you again, Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, nc
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One of the top couple on the island”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Not a great view since it is in town, but the food is excellent, they do a good job taking care of you, and parking is generally pretty easy. A good place to take someone who is visiting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks bgins for taking a few minutes to let other know about our restaurant. We appreciate you recommending us, and we always welcome our island regulars and our visiting tourists! Thank you again and cheers to a great summer! Victoria B., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deck House also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Deck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing