We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a difference” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deck House

Deck House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve some of the most delicious and fresh seafood and handcut steaks around. Come in to try one of our great wines or cocktails and if you are unsure of what to get a friend or family for a gift, our Gift Certificates will always make people happy! We do not accept reservations, however we do have a spacious full service bar for you to wait in if a table is not available right away.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great for a difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have eaten here a couple of times and have enjoyed it. It is a little pricey, but the food has been good. The atmosphere can't be beat, very nice and unique.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wncmtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Beachy214! Thank you so much for your review. We take the time to read each one and learn from all of them. I'm glad you had a great time here, and we hope to have you again in the future. Thank you again, Victoria F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    124
    41
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Again this was within walking distance to our hotel. The seafood was great and the service was good. Highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to the Deck House expecting a nice restaurant experience. We were taken to a table in the back by the bathrooms, instead of being up at the front which was the nicer area, and there were plenty of tables up there. They don't have any draft beer and the peach "sangria" left a lot to be desired - there wasn't even any fruit in it. The meals were okay, the chicken deck house was suppose to be a local favorite but didn't have much of a good taste to it, although my husband enjoyed his black and blue grouper. In general, the restaurant didn't live up to my expectations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Magbake7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking some time to write about your experience. Thank you for mentioning the peach sangria's lack of fruit, as it is supposed to come with oranges and cherries in it. I will make sure to speak with our bartenders and review the recipe to ensure that they are taking the proper steps to make the drink right so it can be enjoyed as it should. Also, our Deck House Chicken has been a staple for our guests since we opened 15 years ago, and I hate that you might have experienced a dish that was lacking. We will again review our recipe with our cooks to make sure that they are making it up to par so that everyone can get the same delicious meal! As always, we truly strive to accommodate everyone as best we can. The back bar area is a mixed bag. Some people actually request to sit back there because they feel it is a bit quieter than the dining room, while others love the dining room more, and request not to be seated back there. If you do take the evening to visit us again, please don't hesitate to ask the hostess to be seated in the dining room and let us know your preference. If we have anything available in there, we will accommodate your request right away. We do want your dining experience to be as comfortable as possible! Thank you again for the time you took to write us and give us feedback on your dinner. Victoria F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere, okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food was okay, nothing special and I wasn't that crazy about anything I had. It is a very nice romantic atmosphere though. Very pretty inside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Greetings! Thank you for taking a few minutes to write about dinner with us at The Deck House. I'm sorry that you didn't get a chance to try something that truly tickled your pallet. We have quite a few options on the menu, so hopefully the romantic atmosphere that you did enjoy will bring you back to sample some of the many other dishes that we have on our menu. There's quite a variety on there, and I hope you give us a chance to truly win you over with one of them. Thank you again. Victoria F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must everytime we visit Carolina Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've never had a bad meal here. Service is always great. The stuffed flounder is my go-to, but you also can't go wrong with the grouper!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rohugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deck H, General Manager at Deck House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Greetings! Thanks so much for your review and I'm so happy to hear that you will be dining with us again. Return business is something we truly strive to earn, and we hope to have you here again soon. Thank you for your business! Victoria F., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deck House also viewed

 

Been to Deck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing