We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My stay was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Sands
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My stay was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Had a great time, the service was "over the top". I'm going to do this every year now.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sethflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    152
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
154
154
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Just returned from vacation at GS. One thing you need to know that they are not really clear on is that there are 2 buildings the North Building and the South Building. When making your reservation online these are noted as an N or an S before your room type (SK= South Building King, NQ= North Building Queen etc.) The south building is the old building, it has been renovated to an extent but you can tell they did not strip it down to the studs and start over which is fine but you can tell. The south building is your typical Motel with outside access to the rooms (not in an interior hallway, it’s all outside) there is only one elevator in the South Building for a 5 level building this is not sufficient as we spent a lot of time waiting on the elevator. There was only one ice machine for the South Building (again not sufficient for 5 levels, it was on the 2nd floor we were on the 4th ). Pros for the South Building = the office is located in this building which has a general type store with everything from drinks and chips to suntan lotion and souvenirs, the motels boardwalk (beach access) is located at the south building. The views are incredible (probably from both but we loved it) restaurant access and Outdoor pool are only in the South Building. The North Building is newer and some of the rooms have full kitchens, (the south building has mini. refrigerators (not the tiny dorm ones, the medium ones) and small microwaves) it has more elevators and is all inside secure access, and the indoor pool and only hot tub (not very hot) are at the North Building. Over all we had a nice trip we went for the sun and the beach, not the room. The beds were comfy and the rooms were clean, bug free, and serviced daily by friendly staff. I would recommend this place to a small family or a couple on a budget. Parking was onsite and free!! Oh and they don't tell you this but they do have Wi-Fi internet (not very fast, but they do have it)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakemanNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

I just got back from staying at the Golden Sands Hotel at Carolina Beach and it was an excellent stay. The room was clean the staff was wonderful and friendly. The resturant was a good place to eat and not too expensive. The Tiki Bar with the music in the evenings was a great way to unwind after a day on the beach. I have to say that I was a little nervous after readong some reviews but I didn't have any problems> I will recommend this place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bergssingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

We have been staying here for @ 7 years when we go to the beach. Staff are always very friendly and helpful. Rooms are always clean and supplied with everything you need. Houskeeping are always freindly and helpful. Restaurant and Tiki Bar have great food and spirits. Very nice place to relax and have fun. Will continue to stay here and will always recomend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Ignore the negative reviews. It was clean and comfortable. Get off the ground level and the rooms have great view. The split room with two doubles and a fold-out is great for families. Easy beach access -- it's right there!

Now, several things were small. The balconies, the pool, the fitness room, and pier were smaller than they loo; acceptable though. The Ocean Grill restaurant has good service and a great view, but the menu selection was, well, small.

Overall, a good hotel and a great value!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sch007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at the GSM and I would have stayed 4 more if I could have...first off I try really hard to not read to much of the bad reviews of a place we stay if they have a decent star rating to begin with. However, I did read a few posts that said there were roaches and rats... I am here to tell whomever is reading...I saw not one bug in the room or elsewhere!! The room was clean and neat and yes the towels have seen better days but for a shower so what. We bring our own beach towels anyways! We stayed in their split room and it was decent. I would stay again and I plan to next summer.

As for the restaurant... in my opinion it just wasnt for us. It was a bit costly for what little we got and of the 5 of us in our party one meal was shared. What we ordered wasnt all that tasty. However, they seem to have lots of seafood and we are not into seafood. If you are then the place may be great for that. But is costly. We also ate at Kates Pancakes and we will not be back there they are simply rude and that review will come later =)

GSM is worth it! Tiki bar is great and Fireworks on Thursday nite, also check out the boardwalk. Our party of 5 had a great time! Oh almost forgot, the bed was comfortable. I did not have a backache the next day and usually do.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestFamilyVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

My and my four children stayed here recently and it was a great place to vacation! The veiw was totally awesome and it was great to hear the live music on the weekend. The beds were a little too firm but overall great stay! I'd say the Tiki Bar was a nice addition to the scenery along with the Ocean grill. We will definately return next year!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilkentont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#2 of 3 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands

Property: Golden Sands
Address: 1211 Lake Park Blvd S, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing