We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and Beach Access”
Review of Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Sands
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
High Point, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value and Beach Access”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay and had a fabulous view of the ocean from our room, right on the beach and next to the dock. The tiki bar, behind the hotel, off the dock is a fun place to eat, sitting outside under their colorful umbrellas. Our room had a fresh decor and was clean. We had a kitchenette which was really handy and came with a full size refrigerator. Central to everything on Carolina Beach, we had an easy walk to the boardwalk and local restaurants.
Our cards to get in the building and room had to be replaced twice but the staff were attentive and efficient so that it was not a real issue.
Our one complaint was that the WiFi was impossible. If we got a connection at all, it would only last for a few moments at best. We are business owners and the WiFi was very important to us.

Room Tip: Get an efficiency for a small additional charge and save big by being able to eat in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanTheVelvetBranch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We thank you very much for your stay and we are very sorry you had problems with the wifi.
We are putting in some new radios and hope you will come back to see us and it will be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    155
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
161
157
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We liked our stay there. Only complaint is the WiFi would not stay connected if it connected at all. Other than that we had a great stay. Nice staff and great location. We also thought the tiki bar and the food connected to the hotel was great. Awesome food and great service

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2oothguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Just came home from another great stay at Golden Sands. This was my fourth or fifth stay there since 2002. The rooms have been updated which is very nice. Our room was very clean and comfortable. This was my first stay in the north building and I was impressed with the quietness if it. We knew there were others on our floor because of the presence of cleaning staff but we didn't hear anyone else at any time. Walls must be very thick. Perks: all rooms oceanfront, restaurant with outdoor seating and a tiki bar on site, nice beach with high lifeguard presence, walking distance to Pop's ice cream shop which is a great evening treat, Thursday night music and view of fireworks from the beach so you can avoid the traffic, very friendly and helpful staff, two pools, frig and microwave in every room, large rooms. I've stayed here several times and will continue to do so. Give it a try. I think you'll be pleased.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Otictac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your stay with us over the years and we hope you continue to come back .Also thanks so much for your kind words and taking notice in our hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband ,son and I recently spent the week-end at Carolina Beach. We weren't sure of any of the hotels when we were booking the hotel so we read a lot of reviews and decided on Golden Sands. It has a great location on the beach and is in walking distance to places to eat and the pavilion area with the shops, amusement rides and food spots. The hotel had a great pier area that you could seat and eat and a bar further out on the pier and even some live music on given nights. The pool was nice and good size with chairs that had nice comfortable cushions. The room was a good size with a microwave, small refrigerator and coffee maker. It also had a small balcony with a great view of the ocean and the pier. You could seat and just people watch. The room was clean and staff friendly. It was a good choice for the money.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are ocean view and there was only four stories, I think so doesn't really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jgiljamm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your stay and kind words.We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stopped at Golden Sands on a whim and I'm glad we did. CLEAN, FRIENDLY, Honest, Family Oriented, Wonderful Place to stay! We left after 2 nights, but plan on making this a yearly visit. After we left, I received a call letting me know that I'd left a VISA card behind. We were 100+ miles away, and they gladly sent me my card, certified mail. Honesty means a lot now days, so I'm a repeat coustomer. Also, ask the staff for good places to eat. They were spot on for us! Did I say AWESOME PLACE?!!!! All I can say is just give them a try. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The 4th floor had a beautiful view of the ocean and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathrine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and also for the kind words we try really hard to make our customers happy and comfortable.Our customers are very important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed for MDW in 2013, loved it so much I came back for 2014! Once again had a perfect stay. After making the reservation, we had to change the dates slightly, which they did with no problem. After checking the website, I saw our new dates were listed at a lower rate, so I called back and they happily adjusted the rates so the stay was cheaper. Once again, everything was perfectly clean (the rooms, pool and all common areas). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The tiki bar was great, also with a wonderful staff. I'm already planning for my next trip down, if not later on this summer, definitely for MDW 2015. It's the new spot!

Room Tip: As far as I know, there's not a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I recently stayed at the Golden Sands in Carolina Beach on vacation with my wife celebrating our 20th year anniversary. It was nice on the beach, all rooms have a ocean front view with a nice Tikki Bar on what's left of a pier next door. While there, we attended a cookout at Carolia Beach Lake on Friday night and participated in a shrine parade on Saturday. Went to the Kure Beach Pier on Saturday evening, then went to Harrahans restaurant for a delicious steak dinner with all the trimmings. Did a lot of shopping and sightseeing. Oh yeah, the room was nice but the parking not so nice, very tight spaces.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#14 of 19 in Carolina Beach
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
55 reviews
13.8 mi away
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands

Property: Golden Sands
Address: 1211 Lake Park Blvd S, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing