We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”
Review of Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Sands
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Grove, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed for a week and we loved it. Our only complaint is the pull out couch in our room was pretty gross other then that we had a blast. Housekeeping took really good care of our room everyday. We have been coming here for the past five or six years and we always have good experiences. Looking forward to our next trip soon.

Room Tip: Great for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    159
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
164
160
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for the second time this week. The staff was polite the room was clean. The view from the fourth floor was very good but we could see the roof of the pool if you look down from the balcony. We arrived before check-in around 12:00 and did not want to pay to park at public beach access so asked the staff in the office if we could park in the lot until check-in. We were surprised when the clerk stated our room was ready and we could check-in if we wanted. The room had two queen beds a sofa and a fridge which were clean. The bed and sofa were comfortable. The room was a little small which we knew as we had stayed hear before. This place is a great value close to anything you could want or need the Tiki bar and Ocean Grill are next to the hotel and we liked both. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: I think the south building view would be better. We could see the pool roof from the balcony no big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austell, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I typically rent a condo down the street from Golden Sands but due to major renovations (through May) my condo stay would have been noisy, dusty and unpleasant. The condo front desk hostess recommended Golden Sands or Courtyard Marriott. I'd stayed at the Marriott and decided to give Golden Sands a try because of the many favorable recommendations. Excellent decision! The front desk host/hostesses, manager and housekeeping were very welcoming and accommodating. Traveling solo, I was booked into a king bedroom, North Tower, 7th floor. There were a couple bus loads of high school students coming in during my stay and were booked on the 5th floor. Being aware of my need for relaxation the front desk recommended a 7th floor end room. I enjoyed an excellent north view of the city, from the hallway window, as well as amazing oceanfront seascapes from my balcony. My four night stay was very comfortable with furnishings and amenities very close to those provided by the Marriott. Actually, the in room refrigerator was larger and colder than the typical hotel refrigerator. This was a pleasant surprise! I'm headed back in June and have already made reservations for the same room. Oh, may I mention that the week was unusually cold, rainy and windy but it didn't matter. I had so much to be thankful for and a wonderful, comfortable room in which to ponder my blessings.

Room Tip: North Tower is newer and well maintained. Easy access to pool and beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Va
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend Feb 14-16th. The hotel looked like it had been updated, we had a large room with a great view. We were here for a soccer tournament and asked for late check out on Sunday. While I understand that they don't usually do that especially since it is probably crowded during the summer, we were denied and the hotel was half full at the most. I counted 17 cars in the lot at 0730 in the morning on Sunday. The gal behind the desk asked what room we were in and turned to look at the computer screen and said a large crowd was coming in , on a Sunday mind you , and taking the entire floor we were on. Needless to say we didn't believe that story as she just looked at the screen didn't actually do anything but that screen said the entire 5 th floor was booked .That message must have been scrolling across the screen! This soccer tournament happens every year at the same time and we will be coming back next year but we will definitely stay elsewhere next time. Driving home to Norfolk dirty from playing soccer was not really comfortable. Check in isn't until 3 so I do believe had they extended us that courtesy that 1 room could have been done in time. The entire team had asked where we stayed and we spoke favorably of the hotel until this. So they probably lost a lot of potential guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvsummer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us we are sorry that you did not believe that we had a group coming
in as we did for the whole week .Our computers has symbols on each room that shows a reservation coming in so all we have to do is glaze at it and it was not hard to know we had that whole building block with a group coming .We try our best to accommidate everyone the best we can as we do when a soccer group comes in.Our check in time is 2:00pm not 3:00 as it has always been we are sorry you thought that.We hope you come back to see us as every customer is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed at Golden Sands for my birthday last summer. The pro is that it is right on the beach. Hotel is clean considering the sand that probably comes in and out. The indoor pool is loud and small. (Not sure why it is indoor in North Carolina when it is on the beach.) The room was clean, but very minimal. The carpet was like indoor/outdoor carpeting. One con is that we had a problem parking two cars in their small lot. We had to move the car around from a lot across the street and pay a fee for the extra car even though there weren't enough spaces. So the convenience of being right on the beach makes this a value, but I still felt it was expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trumps4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We really appreciate your business and we are really sorry if you did not realize we also had a outdoor pool.We provide the indoor pool for cooler days and a lot of people just do not like being in the sun at the outdoor pool.We hope you come back to see us as we have just got through updating all our rooms with new carpet, mattresses,paint and the north building all new furniture.We have also replaced all TV's to flat screen again thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Golden Sands. We stayed in the North tower. If you want a nice view of the ocean from that building, ask for a higher level floor because the lower level floors overlook a building containing an indoor pool. The buildings are key-card entry (everything accessible with your keycard - indoor pool, fitness center, and etc.). The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are clean and spacious.The parking lot is well lit at night. The front desk folks are so nice and helpful. We had a little glitch with the wifi connection in our room, but the front desk clerks (quickly) provided an Ethernet cable to use until the problem was fixed. Within 30 minutes, their internet service person was at our door and fixed our connectivity problem. He even checked back with us later to make sure it was still working correctly.
It's not the Ritz, but it's a great beach hotel. This was our second visit to Golden Sands and I am sure we will return again.

Room Tip: Higher floors in the North Tower have a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ishnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your stay,we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect for our Carolina Beach getaway. It has a down home feel to it as the office staff is very friendly (and country I might add). Just good ol’ southern people. We stayed in the north (newer) building which is 100% non-smoking. This particular building appeared to be in a lot better shape than the other, older building. No complaints from us on this hotel – there wasn’t a thing that did not meet my expectations and I am pretty hard to please when it comes to hotels. I would recommend the top floor as the view is great. The beach was really crowded but we did stay at this hotel on one of the busiest beach weekends of the year. Lifeguards right outside the hotel. The hotel was very convenient and was just minutes to everything. We would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outdoor328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#14 of 19 in Carolina Beach
240 reviews
13.8 mi away
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands

Property: Golden Sands
Address: 1211 Lake Park Blvd S, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing