We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a great hotel!”
Review of Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Sands
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Golden Sands. We stayed in the North tower. If you want a nice view of the ocean from that building, ask for a higher level floor because the lower level floors overlook a building containing an indoor pool. The buildings are key-card entry (everything accessible with your keycard - indoor pool, fitness center, and etc.). The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are clean and spacious.The parking lot is well lit at night. The front desk folks are so nice and helpful. We had a little glitch with the wifi connection in our room, but the front desk clerks (quickly) provided an Ethernet cable to use until the problem was fixed. Within 30 minutes, their internet service person was at our door and fixed our connectivity problem. He even checked back with us later to make sure it was still working correctly.
It's not the Ritz, but it's a great beach hotel. This was our second visit to Golden Sands and I am sure we will return again.

Room Tip: Higher floors in the North Tower have a better view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ishnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your stay,we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Golden Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 430 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect for our Carolina Beach getaway. It has a down home feel to it as the office staff is very friendly (and country I might add). Just good ol’ southern people. We stayed in the north (newer) building which is 100% non-smoking. This particular building appeared to be in a lot better shape than the other, older building. No complaints from us on this hotel – there wasn’t a thing that did not meet my expectations and I am pretty hard to please when it comes to hotels. I would recommend the top floor as the view is great. The beach was really crowded but we did stay at this hotel on one of the busiest beach weekends of the year. Lifeguards right outside the hotel. The hotel was very convenient and was just minutes to everything. We would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Outdoor328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel in Carolina Beach. It may not be ultra luxurious, but it is nice enough and the price is right, too. My room was spacious with two beds and an oceanfront balcony. The on-site Ocean Grill and Tiki Bar are outstanding...great service and truly excellent fresh seafood. The peel and eat shrimp and crab bisque were to die for! This was a very fun getaway and I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your stay.We really do appreciate our customers and try our best to keep a very clean and friendly hotel for all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ooops, forgot to write the review from our stay in June 2013: My wife and I were visiting friends nearby and since their house was being painted, we needed a place to stay for four nights. We chose the Golden Sands from the online description and Tripadvisor. It's a delightful place to stay! It's sitting on the beach so with the sliding doors open in your room you hear the waves all night (we were on the top floor in the building on the left side facing the beach). Please keep in mind this isn't the Hilton, Hyatt or Marriott (which happens to be a few blocks north) but also doesn't have the high prices they offer. The bang-for-the-buck makes it worthwhile. It has it's own pier and bar (Tiki Bar), an onsite restaurant which was quite good, and a first-rate front desk and service thoughout the hotel. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, both an indoor and outdoor pool on the way to the sand makes it all very convenient. We had to leave two nights early to get back home to a sick relative and the gentleman at the front desk didn't charge us for the change in our stay just said he hoped all went well. I travel quite a bit since I'm retired and know what to expect from hotels. Golden Sands was better than I expected! Just make sure you get a top floor for the view and don't worry about the younger folks...go over and talk to them, they are fun to be around. There was a little unexpected excitement: someone in a lower floor decided to microwave popcorn at 3:00am. Yup, you guessed it: he burned the popcorn, set off the fire alarm,hello fire trucks, and a lot of chatting with the other guests congregated outside the front lobby for a half hour. Management was very apologetic but better safe than sorry. Just another story when you travel and go with the flow! I'd go back.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig-of-Clinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We're really appreciate you choosing us. We thank you for your visit and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent four pleasant nights at the Golden Sands. Front desk people are great. Very friendly and helpful. We only checked one other location before selecting the Golden Sands. This is not a resort type location, but gives great value for the money. Pluses include the Tiki bar and Ocean View restaurant, and small gift shop for snacks. We stayed in the building next to the office which I would recommend. It was very quiet which is a plus. We enjoyed our stay and will return to this hotel on our next visit to Carolina Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickey41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your stay and we hope to see you again soon.We will doing a lot of updating in that building this winter so be sure to come back to see us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Sands in July to have some time on the beach. It was a good choice.

The staff very nice and helpful with area information, The hotel is right on the beach with plenty of parking. Rooms were very clean with refrigerator and microwave, 2 beds with a wall separation for privacy and a sofa bed. There is a pool and ocean front restaurant right at the hotel. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgenie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for one night this weekend and were blown away. The customer service is first class. Rooms are simple, clean, and have amazing views. We lucked out with a live band on the pier, so were able to get an amazing show right off the back patio. I have stayed at many places in the past, from motel to 5 star resort, in many cities around the gulf coast and Carolina coast and Golden Sands is the best in price and personality. You couldn't pay for better customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

So glad you stayed with us and had a great time.We try very hard to make our customers feel at home and really appreciate each and everyone of them.Please come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#14 of 19 in Carolina Beach
242 reviews
13.8 mi away
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
Blockade Runner Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands

Address: 1211 Lake Park Blvd S, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range: $110 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing