We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Sands is the Spot in Carolina Beach”
Review of Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Sands
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel in Carolina Beach. It may not be ultra luxurious, but it is nice enough and the price is right, too. My room was spacious with two beds and an oceanfront balcony. The on-site Ocean Grill and Tiki Bar are outstanding...great service and truly excellent fresh seafood. The peel and eat shrimp and crab bisque were to die for! This was a very fun getaway and I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your stay.We really do appreciate our customers and try our best to keep a very clean and friendly hotel for all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 438 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ooops, forgot to write the review from our stay in June 2013: My wife and I were visiting friends nearby and since their house was being painted, we needed a place to stay for four nights. We chose the Golden Sands from the online description and Tripadvisor. It's a delightful place to stay! It's sitting on the beach so with the sliding doors open in your room you hear the waves all night (we were on the top floor in the building on the left side facing the beach). Please keep in mind this isn't the Hilton, Hyatt or Marriott (which happens to be a few blocks north) but also doesn't have the high prices they offer. The bang-for-the-buck makes it worthwhile. It has it's own pier and bar (Tiki Bar), an onsite restaurant which was quite good, and a first-rate front desk and service thoughout the hotel. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable, both an indoor and outdoor pool on the way to the sand makes it all very convenient. We had to leave two nights early to get back home to a sick relative and the gentleman at the front desk didn't charge us for the change in our stay just said he hoped all went well. I travel quite a bit since I'm retired and know what to expect from hotels. Golden Sands was better than I expected! Just make sure you get a top floor for the view and don't worry about the younger folks...go over and talk to them, they are fun to be around. There was a little unexpected excitement: someone in a lower floor decided to microwave popcorn at 3:00am. Yup, you guessed it: he burned the popcorn, set off the fire alarm,hello fire trucks, and a lot of chatting with the other guests congregated outside the front lobby for a half hour. Management was very apologetic but better safe than sorry. Just another story when you travel and go with the flow! I'd go back.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig-of-Clinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We're really appreciate you choosing us. We thank you for your visit and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent four pleasant nights at the Golden Sands. Front desk people are great. Very friendly and helpful. We only checked one other location before selecting the Golden Sands. This is not a resort type location, but gives great value for the money. Pluses include the Tiki bar and Ocean View restaurant, and small gift shop for snacks. We stayed in the building next to the office which I would recommend. It was very quiet which is a plus. We enjoyed our stay and will return to this hotel on our next visit to Carolina Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickey41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your stay and we hope to see you again soon.We will doing a lot of updating in that building this winter so be sure to come back to see us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Sands in July to have some time on the beach. It was a good choice.

The staff very nice and helpful with area information, The hotel is right on the beach with plenty of parking. Rooms were very clean with refrigerator and microwave, 2 beds with a wall separation for privacy and a sofa bed. There is a pool and ocean front restaurant right at the hotel. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgenie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for one night this weekend and were blown away. The customer service is first class. Rooms are simple, clean, and have amazing views. We lucked out with a live band on the pier, so were able to get an amazing show right off the back patio. I have stayed at many places in the past, from motel to 5 star resort, in many cities around the gulf coast and Carolina coast and Golden Sands is the best in price and personality. You couldn't pay for better customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

So glad you stayed with us and had a great time.We try very hard to make our customers feel at home and really appreciate each and everyone of them.Please come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just got back from this hotel at Carolina Beach and have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Shouldn't have been based on the reviews. But I was as I'm used to staying at Marriotts or Disney :-). The room was spotless and very comfortable. We were top floor room 501. We had a separate room where there was a bed then you had the bathroom then another bed and sofa bed. It worked out really well for us. Nothing fancy but just what we needed. My only complaint was that there wasn't a place for breakfast. The Ocean Grill was great for lunch, the food we had was great! But I wish it would have served breakfast, we ended up at McDonalds both days which I hated. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would say get a room on the top floor. Saturday night on the beach can get pretty loud and being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngD1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Ok, so I will admit that this is the first time I've stayed at a #1 rated hotel and not understood why it was rated #1. My guess is because it is quite simply the best deal, cost-wise, in expensive Wrightsville and Carolina Beaches. And it has a tiki bar and restaurant on its own pier. Those aspects were definite pluses! But, the rest, sadly was not totally up to par. The entire hotel, inside the rooms, common areas, and outdoors, is seriously beat. I get that it is a lower cost hotel/motel, and not a resort, but there really isn't any excuse for the shabby condition. Also, the pool areas were so basic/spartan it was hard to believe. So, that said, would I stay there again? Well, if I went over a holiday weekend again and it was the best priced hotel by over $100? Then yes! But if it was at a less in-demand time when other choices might be more reasonable, then probably not.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noahandallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldensandsmotel, General Manager at Golden Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We are very sorry that things were not up to your standards but we do appreciate you staying with us.We do not claim to be a Ritz Carlton Hotel we are a family run Hotel on the beach and are really proud of our rating on trip advisor made by our loyal customers reviews.We realize not everyone may not like that kind of atmosphere but we really want everyone to be happy and will gladly allow someone to look around before renting.We will be doing a lot of updates this winter and we hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#1 of 3 in Carolina Beach
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands

Address: 1211 Lake Park Blvd S, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range: $99 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing