We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Sands
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sea Ranch Motel(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Inn(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Atlantic Towers(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceaneer Motel(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drydock Motel(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russo's Motel(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaWitch Motel(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfside Lodge(Carolina Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
223
165
36
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
223
165
36
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltiki bar and restaurantnorth towerroom was cleanattached restaurantolder buildingnew buildingplace to staykure beach piersmall balconybeachfront hoteltwo queen bedsocean viewget awaywonderful hotelfridge and microwavecoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 443 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

WHAT A VIEW!!!Bathrooms are updated and CLEAN.Friendly staff and housekeeping bends over backwards if you need them.Good looking clean rooms(no mints on pillows or room service,if that's what you're looking for).fridge and micro.I'll stay again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluegrass4him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just returned from a week long stay at the Golden Sands with our two children, ages 3 and 4. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the housekeeping staff kept our room both clean and well stocked. The beds were comfortable. The kids LOVED the indoor pool. We had a beautiful view of the beach from the 4th floor. We also ate at the Tiki bar on more than one occasion, the food was delicious! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank sun1chik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

WOW! What a great stay @ Golden Sands Motel. Everything was as expected out of this great place,We would not even think about staying anywhere else, this was our 2nd stay there @ the north end. Our room # 522 was very clean, AC worked perfectly,view was outstanding & ocean sound was so peaceful on the 5th floor balcony, mattresses were well covered, no need to worry about taking home uninvited pest with you, everything from TV to bathroom stuff worked perfectly. We celebrated our 36th anniversary there even though we had only 2 very short nights on 8/17/12 & on 8/18/12 the time went by too fast. As they say (good things don't last forever), but it was fun while it lasted.We didn't want to leave but had to get back to the old grindstone. We have NO complaints whatsoever. We didn't get to visit the Tiki Bar nor the grill next door but looking forward to that the next time & there will be a NEXT TIME. The walk to the beach was very short & beach was very clean, the security locks on all entrances made you feel safe. getting in & out of free parking lot we found very easy, & people working there were very friendly to us. We can hardly wait until our next stay, this is all we have talked about while driving back home & after we got home, we really wanted to turn around & go back to this great place of Golden Sands Motel @ Carolina Beach. Note: if you plan on going to Britts Donut you may want to plan on standing in line for a long while, we went & the line was so long out the door, we went to Food Lion & got a box of Crispy Cream donuts (not nearly as tastely), some of the people had been standing in line 30 mins. & longer. Golden Sands Motel is now our new home away from home,we love & enjoy it.We just wanted to share our short great experience there with everyone.
Susan & Bill
Franklinton,NC

Room Tip: We have no special tips on rooms because both our visits there, the rooms were on the 5th floor & nothing less than (Perfect) to us.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We've stayed at Golden Sands several times over the passed few years and have really enjoyed our visits. Nice spacious rooms, usually clean enough, but not spotless... and yes, as others have mentioned, the sinks sometimes don't drain as quickly as they should.

Each room has a fridge and microwave and a coffeemaker, plus there's cable TV and free wi-fi. But the best thing is the beautiful ocean front view. And easy, convenient access to the beach.

Indoor and outdoor pools are nice, although we tend to spend most of our time on the beach. The service was great and the office staff have always been very nice. They do have rules and they do enforce the parking situation, but that's true of most beach hotels. So if you need to park your vehicle for the day after checking out, there's public parking right next door and you'd be wise to use it if you don't want to have your vehicle towed.

An on site restaurant and "tiki bar" located at the on site peer are a nice convenience if you don't feel like leaving the property to get a meal or have a drink.

The beds are hard, though, and if you're not used to a very firm mattress, you might want to bring along one of those Tempurpedic mattress toppers to cushion the bed. (Yep, they're that hard.)

This is a beach hotel where the good outweighs any negatives. I will definitely be going back to Golden Sands when I have the chance. It's not perfect, but it's great for a simple beach get away. I'd definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views of the ocean. At a minimum, try to get higher than the third floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastC0ast9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Not fancy but very, very nice (and clean). The sliding glass door to our balcony overlooked the Atlantic Ocean...what else can I say?! That beautiful view was always there and just a short trip down the elevator and we were on the beach. We enjoyed the tiki bar ....great food and drinks! The room/bathroom was very clean which is important to us. My only complaint would be that the pull out sofa looked dated, not dirty just faded. The people in the office were friendly and helpful. This was our second stay at the Golden Sands and will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We had an end room in the north building. End rooms have king size beds.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gram2ava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews