We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for families!”
Review of Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Sands
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just returned from a week long stay at the Golden Sands with our two children, ages 3 and 4. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the housekeeping staff kept our room both clean and well stocked. The beds were comfortable. The kids LOVED the indoor pool. We had a beautiful view of the beach from the 4th floor. We also ate at the Tiki bar on more than one occasion, the food was delicious! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank sun1chik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 433 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

WOW! What a great stay @ Golden Sands Motel. Everything was as expected out of this great place,We would not even think about staying anywhere else, this was our 2nd stay there @ the north end. Our room # 522 was very clean, AC worked perfectly,view was outstanding & ocean sound was so peaceful on the 5th floor balcony, mattresses were well covered, no need to worry about taking home uninvited pest with you, everything from TV to bathroom stuff worked perfectly. We celebrated our 36th anniversary there even though we had only 2 very short nights on 8/17/12 & on 8/18/12 the time went by too fast. As they say (good things don't last forever), but it was fun while it lasted.We didn't want to leave but had to get back to the old grindstone. We have NO complaints whatsoever. We didn't get to visit the Tiki Bar nor the grill next door but looking forward to that the next time & there will be a NEXT TIME. The walk to the beach was very short & beach was very clean, the security locks on all entrances made you feel safe. getting in & out of free parking lot we found very easy, & people working there were very friendly to us. We can hardly wait until our next stay, this is all we have talked about while driving back home & after we got home, we really wanted to turn around & go back to this great place of Golden Sands Motel @ Carolina Beach. Note: if you plan on going to Britts Donut you may want to plan on standing in line for a long while, we went & the line was so long out the door, we went to Food Lion & got a box of Crispy Cream donuts (not nearly as tastely), some of the people had been standing in line 30 mins. & longer. Golden Sands Motel is now our new home away from home,we love & enjoy it.We just wanted to share our short great experience there with everyone.
Susan & Bill
Franklinton,NC

Room Tip: We have no special tips on rooms because both our visits there, the rooms were on the 5th floor &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We've stayed at Golden Sands several times over the passed few years and have really enjoyed our visits. Nice spacious rooms, usually clean enough, but not spotless... and yes, as others have mentioned, the sinks sometimes don't drain as quickly as they should.

Each room has a fridge and microwave and a coffeemaker, plus there's cable TV and free wi-fi. But the best thing is the beautiful ocean front view. And easy, convenient access to the beach.

Indoor and outdoor pools are nice, although we tend to spend most of our time on the beach. The service was great and the office staff have always been very nice. They do have rules and they do enforce the parking situation, but that's true of most beach hotels. So if you need to park your vehicle for the day after checking out, there's public parking right next door and you'd be wise to use it if you don't want to have your vehicle towed.

An on site restaurant and "tiki bar" located at the on site peer are a nice convenience if you don't feel like leaving the property to get a meal or have a drink.

The beds are hard, though, and if you're not used to a very firm mattress, you might want to bring along one of those Tempurpedic mattress toppers to cushion the bed. (Yep, they're that hard.)

This is a beach hotel where the good outweighs any negatives. I will definitely be going back to Golden Sands when I have the chance. It's not perfect, but it's great for a simple beach get away. I'd definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views of the ocean. At a minimum, try to get higher than the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastC0ast9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Not fancy but very, very nice (and clean). The sliding glass door to our balcony overlooked the Atlantic Ocean...what else can I say?! That beautiful view was always there and just a short trip down the elevator and we were on the beach. We enjoyed the tiki bar ....great food and drinks! The room/bathroom was very clean which is important to us. My only complaint would be that the pull out sofa looked dated, not dirty just faded. The people in the office were friendly and helpful. This was our second stay at the Golden Sands and will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We had an end room in the north building. End rooms have king size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gram2ava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Me my Wife & 10 year old graandaughter stayed A week in split room 406. The best thing was alot of KIDS for her to play with each day. The views of the Pool, and Ocean were spot on.The TV in master area was old no blue, drive needs to be replaced.The AC unit couldn't keep up,didn't need any covers at night. We also had tiny Red bugs/ants in the room?Maid service was good each day. NOTE.Carolina Beach room taxes the highest I ever seen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were VERY pleased with our stay at Golden Sands. Our room faced the ocean, non-smoking. It was CLEAN, quiet and we would DEFINATELY make a return visit. We received a $10.00 discount for the room as we were staying for three days. The room was large, good sized bathroom and once again - CLEAN. It had a small balconey which was just perfect for ocean watching. Had an indoor pool which was great for people with kids who wanted to swim at night.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the 7th floor - was very quiet w/ a beautiful view and small balconey which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mountaingirl282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

the room was very basic. 2 beds big bathroom and a beautiful ocean view. the convenient thing about this hotel is it is attached to the tiki bar and ocean grill. there is a great pier overlooking the ocean. this place is my fav, stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krempie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#1 of 3 in Carolina Beach
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands

Address: 1211 Lake Park Blvd S, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range: $99 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing