We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Sands
Nearby Hotels
$161
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach(Carolina Beach)(Great Value!)
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drifters Reef Hotel(Carolina Beach)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceaneer Motel(Carolina Beach)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfside Lodge(Carolina Beach)
$125
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Drydock Motel(Carolina Beach)
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
223
165
36
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
223
165
36
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor pooltiki bar and restaurantnorth towerroom was cleanattached restaurantolder buildingnew buildingplace to staykure beach piersmall balconybeachfront hoteltwo queen bedsocean viewget awaywonderful hotelfridge and microwavecoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 443 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Not fancy but very, very nice (and clean). The sliding glass door to our balcony overlooked the Atlantic Ocean...what else can I say?! That beautiful view was always there and just a short trip down the elevator and we were on the beach. We enjoyed the tiki bar ....great food and drinks! The room/bathroom was very clean which is important to us. My only complaint would be that the pull out sofa looked dated, not dirty just faded. The people in the office were friendly and helpful. This was our second stay at the Golden Sands and will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We had an end room in the north building. End rooms have king size beds.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gram2ava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Me my Wife & 10 year old graandaughter stayed A week in split room 406. The best thing was alot of KIDS for her to play with each day. The views of the Pool, and Ocean were spot on.The TV in master area was old no blue, drive needs to be replaced.The AC unit couldn't keep up,didn't need any covers at night. We also had tiny Red bugs/ants in the room?Maid service was good each day. NOTE.Carolina Beach room taxes the highest I ever seen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were VERY pleased with our stay at Golden Sands. Our room faced the ocean, non-smoking. It was CLEAN, quiet and we would DEFINATELY make a return visit. We received a $10.00 discount for the room as we were staying for three days. The room was large, good sized bathroom and once again - CLEAN. It had a small balconey which was just perfect for ocean watching. Had an indoor pool which was great for people with kids who wanted to swim at night.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the 7th floor - was very quiet w/ a beautiful view and small balconey which was all we needed.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mountaingirl282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

the room was very basic. 2 beds big bathroom and a beautiful ocean view. the convenient thing about this hotel is it is attached to the tiki bar and ocean grill. there is a great pier overlooking the ocean. this place is my fav, stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krempie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to the beach and stay at Golden Sands. Nice spacious rooms. Would recommend the split roomif traveling with kids, you have a little separation and they have their own tv. Beautiful ocean front view. Great access to beach.Indoor and outdoor pools are nice and easy to get to. Service was great. Rooms very clean. Restaurant and Tiki bar are availabeif you don't feel like leaving the beach.I would definitely recommend staying here andI will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the split roomif traveling with kids or another couple. You have a little separation and additional tv.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews