We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Bagels in the area!”
Review of Big Apple Bakery

Big Apple Bakery
Restaurant details
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEST Bagels in the area!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Big Apple Bakery is definitely a hidden gem here! Their homemade cream cheeses are out of this world and they make fresh New York bagels! Their coffee is a little hit and miss, but their bagels and cream cheese (Chive and Garlic & Honey Nut especially) are well worth it! Plus, they have some pretty tasty desserts you can get if you are just looking for a sweet treat! Great place, great service, and AMAZING food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samanthajessup24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So Yummy”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Recently traveled to NC on vacation. We were so excited to see a bakery on the island that had real bagels!!! We had breakfast every morning at the Big Apple Bakery before heading to the beach. We were also never dissapointed on our way home from the beach for another stop in for some sweet delicious desserts!!! A must for your next visit in Carolina Beach!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stick to the bagels. ”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a bagel with lox and chive cream cheese. Wonderful! Just like NYC. Also, the coconut macaroons were perfect, and the coffee was very good. The service was pleasant and the place was inviting.

The other baked goods we bought (a scone, cupcakes, eclairs, and fruit-filled pastry) looked good, but were similar to what you would find in the bakery section of a grocery chain. If you like that type of pastry, then you will be satisfied. For us, we were hoping for homemade fillings and real fruit, not what we thought were whipped toppings and pre-made fruit glazes.

As I said though, the bagels were great and the breads looked good too.

Best wishes to the shop; the South definitely needs more bakeries!

Helpful?
1 Thank OnwardAndUpward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Reminds me of NY”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

When you walk in the yummy smell hits you, and the walls are decorated with pictures of NY! The staff is friendly and helpful! I brought my 5 year old son and the girl behind the counter was so patient and helped him pick out the peanut butter cup cupcake! He loved it so much they we had to get one to go! The Oreo cupcake was also excellent! Everything was clean! I will be going back and I would recommend the Big Apple Bakery to anyone that wants fresh bread or baked treats!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hereinthemeantime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“the best bakery.”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

As soon as you walk in you are welcomed by the staff. They have everything from latte, cappucino's, tea, juice, water, milk and desserts that will make your mouth water. Real cannoli's, bread pudding, bagels, cupcakes, cookies, cakes, mini cheesecakes and more. They are all delicious. Its hard to pick a favorite thing from them when they are all so tasty and inexpensive. yum!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southernangelcomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Apple Bakery also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Big Apple Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing