We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotdogs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Hots

Island Hots
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An outdoor patio for enjoying the Carolina Beach breeze while enjoying your Hot Dog, BBQ or chicken tenders with fries, onion rings and great root beer floats! Also beer for those hot summer days! We carry vegetarian hot dogs, along with gluten-free buns and toppings. Bring the family, and your furry friends out for live music every Friday evening from Memorial Day through Labor Day, from 7:00-9:00.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome hotdogs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stopped by on our way back home from our vacation and ordered six hotdogs and we are so glad we did! We tried both the beef and vegetarian dogs (both were excellent) and got the chili/cheese, bbq, and Chicago dog toppings. All of the toppings were amazing, and the Chicago dog was fantastic! Cheap prices for really great food. Stop by if you want a great hotdog!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzustarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, Manager at Island Hots, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Glad you tried a variety to sample and enjoyed them all! Hope to see you next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    38
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

They have four different types of dogs, and lots of different toppings. Everything I had was delicious! We have stopped here after hanging out at the beach two years in a row. The employees working were so friendly...I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, Manager at Island Hots, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for the continued support into our second season. Glad you found us in year one and returned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great veggie dogs, great selection, great service! Very friendly! Wish we had this restaurant in PA.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron S, Owner at Island Hots, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Great having you guys come in a few times while you were vacationing! Hope to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cold, un-cooked, no creativity whatsoever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was excited to see a veggie dog on the menu, but when I got it, it was cold, didn't seem cooked. They merely steam them. Could use a little creativity and need to get gluten free buns in their. Oh and the male owner could be much more welcoming and friendly. I was the only person in the place and you'd think he could be just a little (well alot) more friendly. Could be pretty good option if you are vegetarian if they bumped up the offerings and friendliness.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BestHonestReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Owner at Island Hots, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We do indeed steam all our hot dogs and our Gluten free menu - including Gluten free rolls - is posted on the front door as well as next to the register. We offer Gluten free beef hot dogs, rolls, and a list of Gluten free topping choices on this special menu.

We would have loved the feedback regarding your veggie dog being cold during your visit so we could have provided you another quality offering as well as reviewed with you our Gluten free and vegan choices. The Chicago dog is the most popular for vegan.

We appreciate your feedback that your meal was not served to our high standards so we can ensure future orders will be hot and fresh, as we sell over 100 veggie dogs each week with rave reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and pet friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family of 6 and i enjoyed this place most of all places in carolina beach for lunchtime. Excellent hotdogs, pork sandwich, chicken that we had with rootbeer floats!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jabird31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandhots, Manager at Island Hots, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I still have a root beer float every time I work. They are so good!
We have tried to add other menu items to please the whole family with the chicken and pork.
Thanks for sharing your vacation time with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Hots also viewed

Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Island Hots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing